Geeks logo

My Review of "Miss Americana"

The unexpected autobiographical documentary of Taylor Swift's career.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I didn't expect to see a Taylor Swift documentary on Netflix so soon. It seems like nowadays popular stars are making documentaries about themselves on popular streaming services. I then realized wow Taylor Swift has been popular for a long period of time. The same goes for a ton of the stars that are streaming their biographies.

Not too long ago I watched a short biography of Kevin Hart's life during the last few years where he's was under a negative spotlight in the media. I hear Justin Bieber has recently done the same on YouTube. Taylor Swift had the right timing and the right platform to deliver her autobiography to the world with Miss Americana.

It's actually a pretty interesting documentary. I don't know too much about Taylor Swift's music but I have heard much of the topics she discusses in her film. There's no doubt everyone has at least heard of some of the situations that she talks about. She's big world wide and there's no way of avoiding it. I think she talks about all of the scandals and issues that she's experienced in her career in this film. The progression of her story is well paced and it kept me engaged throughout the documentary.

She starts off telling the audience how she had started to become a singer and songwriter. It's not an overnight success story. I love how she's quite open and honest about her motivations and thought processes. You'll love the old clips of her when she's younger. You can just see the innocence of the youthful Taylor Swift.

As I mentioned before, I love the progression of the film because you really start to understand what has motivated her throughout the years and her head-space while it was happening. There was a lot that happened to her and I can't even try to imagine a young girl experiencing that much. I started to realize how strong of a person she is to be able to have such a strong head on her shoulders.

She also gives me a different perspective as to how much harder it is for a woman to make it in her industry because of the double standards that they have to deal with. When she mentions a few things in the movie, light-bulbs started flashing in my head realizing that she's right. It must have been hard for her to deal with all of this at such a young age with so few people to stand behind her. Not a lot of people can truly relate to her so she doesn't have that many people to discuss her issues with.

It truly was a privilege to have her allow us into her life. Watching this documentary truly felt like she was reading her personal diary out-loud to the world. She would not only tell us her motivations but she would also give us a glimpse to her creative world. We get to see her in her process and it's really cool. I now have a better understanding of who she is and why she is the way she is today. She has my utmost respect for her craft and as a human being.

Overall, even a person like myself became invested in this documentary. I like Taylor Swift more as a person after watching this film and I think others that may not necessarily have been Taylor Swift fans might fall for her as well after watching this. It's a really well crafted documentary that people that are into pop culture and celebrity should really check out. It's a really interesting perspective that not a lot of people see. I'll have to give this documentary an 8 out of 10. It's definitely re-watchable and recommended to all groups of people.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.