Geeks logo

My Review of "Lupin: Part I"

A great start to 2021 Netflix. Can we have part 2 now?!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Lupin: Part I is the first half of the first season of Lupin. This story is based off of a famous French character, Arsène Lupin. This character is basically a gentleman burglar. It obviously would be very interesting to see this sort of character in 2021 when surveillance is a way of life now. To my surprise this TV series works pretty well.

The series starts off with the main character, Assane. He seems to be a mild mannered janitor working at the Louvre museum in Paris. One of the pieces that he is fixated to is a necklace owned by Marie-Antoinette. I'm already thinking that he's going to steal it somehow.

As soon as I knew it, Assane is more than meets the eye. It seems that he lives so many different lives at the same time. At one point he's a janitor, then he's a family man with an estranged family. He's distanced from his son and it seems that he's no longer with his wife anymore but they're still on great terms. Then the show tells me that he's got dealings with some shady people as well.

It's the shady people that are going to help him steal the necklace from the Louvre. The problem is that he can't really trust these shady gang of miscreants. The build up to the robbery is surprisingly suspenseful just like it is in any of the Oceans movie. The characters really help build the curious vibe of the series. We don't know who to trust and who is going to double cross whom.

There is a dramatic outcome to this cleverly written heist that will make you realize that Assane is not your ordinary burglar. He lives his life just as Arsène Lupin the famous French character. Conning his way out of everything is one thing but planning elaborate plans and executing them to perfection is another. I couldn't help but root for this guy even when he's robbing innocent people.

The actor who plays Assane does such a great job in making him a likeable character. I was cheering this guy on throughout this half of the season. He also has help from a select individuals. They're also highly intelligent in their own right. This is an amazing start to the new year to have such a great series.

Those that don't like foreign series may not enjoy this one because it's all in French. Trust me when I say reading the subtitles is worth it. I normally don't like foreign series as well but this TV series caught me from the first episode. It's that good.

Each episode ranges from 45 minutes to an hour and quite frankly they don't feel like it. The time will pass by and you won't even realize that you've binged the whole season. There are only 5 episodes after all. This thing plays out like a longer movie that you just have to say next every so often.

Also knowing that it's the first half, you have to realize that this part of the season will end with a cliffhanger. Is it ever a cliffhanger of an ending. The issue I had with the cliffhanger is sort of like a Game of Thrones time sequence. The timing of the villain doesn't really make sense for what they did at the end but that's neither here nor there.

Overall, I loved this series. At first, I didn't know what I was getting myself into but the minute it started I was hooked. This series is totally binge worthy and I know a lot of people will be doing so when they watch that first episode. I have to give this first half a 9 out of 10. I really enjoyed it and I will be recommending it to everyone that I know. Hopefully the second half will be just as good as the first!

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.