Geeks logo

My Review of "Kevin Hart: Irresponsible"

Kevin Hart's latest Netflix Comedy special on Netflix is different. This is what I thought.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

After watching the incredible Netflix TV documentary "Kevin Hart: Don't F**k This Up", I realized I haven't seen his latest comedy special "Kevin Hart: Irresponsible". There really was no buzz about this special so I quickly forgot about it when it first come out. It could have been because of the controversies surrounding Kevin Hart at the time he released his special. All of which are explained in the TV documentary.

I didn't know what to make of this new comedy special. He's talked about everything what would be so funny in his life now that would keep us entertained and not repeat any of the jokes that he made in previous specials? Well he's at a new stage in his life and he talks about that.

To me, this is definitely a different Kevin Hart special. He's all grown up and a responsible dad in his second marriage. He still screws up now and then and when he screws up it's big. He doesn't really go into detail about those big screw ups in this special which is a shame because it could have been a more interesting conversation. Although, I can understand that the sting was a little much at the time he made the special.

In this special he talks about parent life and doing so I kind of have a disconnect with him in this special. He speaks casually as if all of us have kids and understand the craziness of parenthood but a lot of us don't have kids. We especially don't live in his special predicament where he is so amicable with everyone.

Yes he still has some funny anecdotes about his children and hilarious situations with his kids but it never gets to laugh out loud funny for me. It's a nice chuckle here and there. He's still the animated ball of energy he once was back in the day. Fortunately he hasn't really missed a step there but it's definitely different because he talks about more mature situations.

He still talks about sex and still goes into his self deprecating humor about his stature and prowess. So there's still some familiarity to some of his jokes. Again, I never really got a laugh out loud moment but a chuckle here and there. It's too bad because I think the jokes may need just a little tweaking and he might get there.

I was actually expecting him to go off and roast the situations he's been in. Much of his most watched videos on YouTube are of him roasting celebrities on TV. He's incredibly entertaining in these videos. The energy of these videos is gone in this stand-up special. I understand his situation though. You can't just go on and start beefs to make a good special. Instead he came up with original jokes that stemmed from his real life experiences.

There's definitely something I don't get in this comedy special because I thought it was a pretty mediocre comedy special. The worse thing is that I know he can do much better. I've seen him do better in his older specials and I know he can do better when I see him live on TV. It doesn't make a lick of sense to me why I didn't enjoy this special.

Overall, I kind of got bored for a little while watching this special. Admittedly, I fell asleep for one or two parts. I'm sorry to say that I can't really recommend this special as I did his other work. If you want to see a good Kevin Hart special watch this TV documentary. You can pass on this TV special. I'll have to give this special a 5 out of 10. I'm sorry, I really wanted to like it too.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.