Geeks logo

My Review of "Katt Williams: The Pimp Chronicles Pt.1"

This stand-up goes back to 2006. How does it fare to today's standard in comedy?

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I recently rewatched Katt Williams' 2006 HBO comedy special, The Pimp Chronicles Pt. 1. I remember laughing my butt off when I first saw this back in the day. It would be interesting to see how it fared today. I didn't think that the material back then would translate well to today's climate but I was wrong.

The intro and outro of this comedy special screams out the era that it was made. The clothes and the ideas are very much 2006. It's a bit of nostalgia when I watched this comedy special. It's also interesting to see all of the old stars that you know in that special and how they have changed. They were so young at the time and had different ambitions. I almost forgot that he was on Nick Cannon's Wild N'Out TV show. When they introduced him they mentioned this and I was definitely brought back in time.

Katt Williams himself is a very interesting comedian. He is very animated when he comes out with his jokes. This was obviously a big special for him so it does show that he definitely honed his set before going off for this special. I have to say that the set was clean and smooth as butter. All of the transitions were silky smooth. He has a way of going from joke to joke without having any awkward pauses. It's very interesting because even comedians today will have a few pauses to go to jokes of a different subject. He transitions pretty smooth.

Much of Katt Williams comedy comes from his delivery and timing. His facial expressions and mannerisms are so good when he tries to drive home the punchline. It kind of reminds me of how Kevin Hart does his comedy today. Katt Williams really shines in this department and the cameraman knows this too. There are a ton of closeups to his face to see the expression on his face when he delivers his jokes. I'm pretty sure he's pretty aware of it as well because he'll often repeat sentences and jokes to drive the joke home and give it a bigger impact.

The subject matter of his jokes are surprisingly still on point. A ton of the jokes aren't very politically correct to today's standards but we have to pay attention to the time that he made the jokes. They hit on racial stereotypes and stereotypes altogether that people still to this day believe in. I think people today can still watch this special and still understand his jokes.

To me the jokes are still funny today as they were back in the day but it's different for me. I remember the time when I first heard these jokes. It feels like I am brought back in time and felt like I was still in the time and hearing those jokes for the first time again. I guess that's why these specials still have a good following. People can go back to these specials and still have great fun with them.

Overall, I still had a surprising good time watching this special. I think that his jokes were general enough so that people today can still watch the special and still understand what he's getting at. In any case it's his mannerisms and facial expressions that really shine in this special. When you see it you'll understand what I'm talking about. He's such a great physical comedian. I'll have to give this special an 8 out of 10.

After seeing this special, I want to check out more of his recent stuff. That is if he's still making comedy specials. I really have to review his more recent stuff to see how well he's doing. Maybe he's honed his craft and elevated to something different.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.