Geeks logo

My Review of "Katt Williams: Great America"

After watching an older Katt Williams special I was curious what his material was like today. This special came out in 2018.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2

I had a great time last week watching Katt Williams' Pimp Chronicles Pt.1, I was curious what his stand-up material would be like today. To my surprise there happened to be a 2018 Netflix special called Katt Williams: Great America. Say no more, I have to check it out!

First off, I haven't really been following Katt Williams for a while and I don't know what's happened to him. When they introduced him to the stage in this special it was really odd that they would big him up with crediting him for being in the movie Friday After Next. It wasn't a really big movie and I believe that movie came out a long time ago. So I guess Katt Williams hasn't done a lot in the past few years.

Katt comes out and he looks like he has aged and like in a dad way age. He looks a lot older and a lot bigger than I remembered him. I was thinking this doesn't matter he's still probably as funny as before right?

He starts off with jokes about Jacksonville. Obviously he has to pander to the crowd that he's performing for. If I was from Jacksonville I'd probably get it and laugh along but this went on for quite a bit of time. It catered to their city and I'm not mad at that but I have no knowledge at all about Jacksonville so I'm not sure what to make of these jokes.

He then goes into some relationship jokes and they're funny but you can tell that he's a lot older now so he's not as animated as he was back when he was younger. He's still got the facial expressions and timing but it's a far cry from his youth. The energy isn't quite as high as it was back in the day and I don't fault him for that.

There were some jokes about getting older and this part I identified more with and thought was pretty funny. You can see that he is basing a lot of his jokes on personal experience and I guess he pokes fun of himself here and there and that was fun.

Finally he goes into some political jokes. It's funny because it's back in 2018. I remember a lot of the thing that he mentions in the jokes. It hasn't been that long but it seems like a lot of stuff has passed and I almost forgot about a lot of the details that he talks about in his set. There are some funny jokes here and there.

It's evident that Katt Williams has evolved as a comedian because of his age. I think he's more in a transition phase to find his footing as he can't be as animated as he once was. I would say that his material is somewhat lacking. He is still repeating some of his jokes over and over again however it doesn't quite work as well this time because his energy isn't as high as it once was.

Overall, I enjoyed probably half of the stand up special. The beginning is kind of boring for me because I have no knowledge of Jacksonville and there were some misses along the way. There weren't huge laugh out loud moments for me. It was more of a chuckle here and there. I still think he has potential to create an even better special. I'm sure he's experienced some crazy stuff that he can get good material from. Unfortunately I'll have to give this special a 4 out of 10. That's only my opinion though. If you're from Jacksonville I'm sure this would register a lot higher for you.

review
2

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.