Geeks logo

My Review of 'Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom'

Here's what I thought of the sequel to 'Jurassic World.'

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I've never been a huge fan of the Jurassic Park series. It's been a long time, but I remembered liking the first two movies. I don't think I cared much for the third movie. Jurassic World was a pleasant surprise, but it was definitely a popcorn flick where I enjoyed the movie for the fantastic special effects.

Not much has changed with the newest in the Jurassic Park series, Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom. There is a ton of great special effects, but not a lot of great content that follows. Going into a movie about dinosaurs roaming the Earth, did you really expect more?

So at the end of Jurassic World the gigantic dinosaur theme park has been decimated by wild dinosaurs. We again learn the lesson for the fourth time that you cannot tame these wild beasts—yet here we are again. Oh, us humans will never learn our lesson, and I guess that's true to real life because we're still watching these movies in the theaters.

This movie picks up a few years after Jurassic World. They've found out that the island that the dinosaurs inhabited in Jurassic World is actually a volcanic island and the volcano is starting to act up. They have this somewhat hilarious debate of whether to save the dinosaurs from the island. Of course, the main character Claire, played again by Bryce Dallas Howard, feels empathy for the dinosaurs and wants to save them all.

She gets called upon by this rich family to save the dinosaurs. The patriarch of the family Benjamin Lockwood, played by James Cromwell, is apparently one of the founders of the original Jurassic Park. I don't know how they get tied in with Eli Mills, played by Rafe Spall. That part was a little murky for me. He's supposed to be some caregiver to Benjamin Lockwood's granddaughter Maisie, played by Isabella Sermon.

You can obviously tell that Eli is a huge douche and something is up. Everything in this movie is pretty black and white, but that's to be expected in a movie like this so that the audience can just lay back and let the special effects dazzle them.

They did have some crazy storyline with Maisie that I thought was a little out there and unnecessary. Let's just say that the whole thing is pretty crazy and out there, but alas, it still happened.

Anyways, Claire agrees to hunt down Blue—the velociraptor that Owen Grady, played by Chris Pratt, had trained. I thought it was funny that Claire doesn't find anything fishy for them to want the one dinosaur that was properly trained by a human.

They go into this little shtick about how Owen and Claire had broken up since Jurassic World. Their relationship already has no chemistry at all and they didn't really need to talk about it in this movie. I don't even remember if they even got together again by the end of the movie. Owen agrees to help Claire out to capture Blue.

So then they all set out to save the dinosaurs. There is a lot of yelling, running, kidnapping, and a lot of shocked faces. Still, the special effects were really well done so it was fun to watch.

Overall, I would say that I still had an okay time watching this movie. I definitely wouldn't want to watch the movie again, but it was a good time watching it the first time. As a movie, I'll have to give this movie a six out of 10. I do wonder what it would have been like if I had watched it in 3D in the theaters. Perhaps, my score might have changed.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.