Geeks logo

My Review of "Jexi"

A sort of comedy version of the movie "Her"

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Jexi is a Amazon Prime exclusive movie that came out back in 2019. The whole movie kind of reminded me of a comedic version of the movie Her that came out back in 2014. Ultimately these films are miles apart from one another but there are some similarities between the two that I couldn't deny.

This movie starts off with the main character Phil. They introduce his formative years as a complacent boy. His parents have had trouble throughout their marriage and instead of addressing anything as a family they'd distract Phil with a cell phone. He'd play games with it and it's basically taken over his life and then the scene pans to others that are totally dependent of their phones. This includes us in general because it's basically part of our daily lives now.

Now that Phil is an adult he works in a meaningless job that he's just chugging along to. He really wants to be a journalist but as he's grown up complacent he just lets life tell him what to pursue. Unfortunately he doesn't have any friends either. Rather than hanging out with his coworkers he prefers to stay home with his phone and watch movies. I thought this was hilarious because a lot of us can kind of relate.

They pain Phil as a really relatable person as a lot of people just go through their normal day to day lives with empty jobs and keeping to themselves. I think a lot of people can relate to his situation.

This all changes when he bumps into a beautiful girl by the name of Cate. In their little collision he happens to break his phone but is able to learn a little about her. He's smitten from the first time he sees her but realizes he now has to get a new phone.

When he gets his new phone called Jexi, the whole movie takes a huge turn. Right from the start Jexi has an attitude with Phil and you start wondering who would be able to tolerate such a program. It kind of works because Phil is such a complacent guy that he's willing to do whatever Jexi gets him to do and is willing to take the verbal abuse.

Still Jexi is actually trying to make Phil's life better it's just that she sees him as a loser and goes to extreme measures to help him. This movie has an interesting pace to it. The whole story is gradually told throughout the movie. I think that maybe the plot of the whole movie was told a little late in the movie. There's a main plot twist that I think kind of comes in late in the movie as well.

Still I like the actors and the way that they portrayed the characters in this movie. I thought that they added a sense of charm and charisma to the movie that was sorely needed. If it wasn't for the actors I don't know if this movie would have been quite as fun.

I can see a ton of similarities to the Her movie that came out back in 2014. That movie was a serious analysis of what happens if a man becomes romantically linked to an artificial intelligence on a cell phone. This one deals with a neurotic intelligence on a cell phone. It's also a comedy.

The zaniness of the situations that Phil gets into are pretty funny. I like how they played around with how powerful Jexi can be because she's a cell phone. It sends the message of how we are all dependent on phones and how it's really dangerous to us in our society.

Overall, I enjoyed this movie and I think it's a fun time for a lot of people because the characters are pretty relatable. It's not a really mind blowing movie but it is some dumb fun. I have to give this movie a 6.5 out of 10. I think I would give this movie a watch over again if I felt really bored. I don't think I'd go out of my way to watch it though.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.