Geeks logo

My Review of "I Am Not Okay With This: Season One"

If you get over the main character you will find this season interesting.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

I Am Not Okay With This is a Netflix exclusive TV series that I thought would explore a girl's super powers. I soon found out that this movie is actually more about the main character Syd trying to figure herself out. She has so much angst that it was very difficult to watch this season at times. The thing about this is that the show had to make her this way for the series to work. Once you get to the very end you realize that everything was done pretty intelligently.

This season starts with Syd walking through an empty street drenched in blood. Then it flashes back to her talking to the school councilor telling her to write a journal. This is a pivotal part of the show because the whole show is based on her writing this journal to narrate what's going on.

She explains that her father had committed suicide not too long ago and she's been having problems coping with it. Her brother seems to be able to cope with it better than her and her mother is in auto mode in order to keep the family intact.

She's only got one best friend Dina but she may be disappearing because Dina has found a boyfriend. This boyfriend seems to be taking a lot more of Dina's time.

There's a boy named Stanley that lives next to her and he's absolutely enamored by Syd. The problem is that Syd doesn't really feel the same way with him.

To add to all of her terrible family situation and usual teenage issues, she's starting to discover that she's got special powers. The problem with the powers is that she doesn't seem to know how to control it. They happen at the most inopportune times for her.

Right from the start of this series I felt like I got duped. There's very little talk about her powers and more about high school drama. I guess they need something to get this series going and every show has to start somewhere in order to develop their character.

The problem I had was that Syd was starting to get on my nerves. She seemed like such a rotten little brat considering that everyone in the family outside of her realized that they had to pull their weight to help. Her mom is already stressed that her husband had committed suicide making her support two kids on a single income. Her little brother is being bullied and he cooks for her because she refuses to do anything around the house.

It was really getting grating until close to the end of the season. I started to realize that she has to be like this in order to make the show make sense. There is something that requires her to be angry with everything in order for it to work. Her personality is key for all of the pieces to fall into place throughout the season.

By the end of the season I was all in. In fact by the very last episode I started to like this series. I don't know why it took me so long to have this eureka moment I guess I'm just a little slow sometimes.

I even liked how they cast the characters. Each of the actors did a great job in bringing their own personal touch to their characters and it shows. Each one of them are so different from one another that I don't think any of them would be with one another if it wasn't for Syd.

One thing that I had a gripe about these Netflix series is that they always end in cliffhangers. Oh my gosh I could tell it was going to happen a mile away. Netflix always does this with their TV series so I shouldn't be shocked at all.

Overall, I would say that it took me quite a while to really enjoy this series but did it really? I mean I would have shut it off earlier if it didn't intrigue me right? Maybe it hooked me from the beginning not even realizing it but by the end of it I was into it. I have to give this series a 7.5 out of 10. I think next season should be pretty good because we got all of the introductions all sorted out. Bring on season two.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.