Geeks logo

My Review of "Hamilton"

Who would have thought a historical musical would be this entertaining.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Hamilton is probably one of the last things I thought I would be watching in 2020. It came out not too long on Disney plus but it's a musical and about American history. I've never really been into musicals but things have surprised me in the past. This one is different all my friends would say to me. It's rapping and it's not the same corny old musical that you think it is. They were right. There's so much more to this musical than I thought.

The whole story starts out with the birth and upbringing of Alexander Hamilton who the play is all about. They talk about his rough past and how he wasn't supposed to amount to anything. Yet he was able to rise up against all odds.

They talk about his circle of friends and how he rose to power and wealth. All this while holding onto his personal values and beliefs. It's hard to imagine because the times that he was growing up were pretty racist and elitist times. Things have changed drastically in some ways and in some ways not so much.

Then it goes deeper into Hamilton's life. I didn't expect it to go this deep. The play goes deep into his personal life. They went into his infidelities and the people that he had conflicts with. Who would have thought they'd go this deep into his life. In a way this is great because we learn about the true Hamilton not just some glorified lost hero that I thought it was all about. He had his vices and was definitely not a perfect person.

This play also dives into issues of jealousy and pride. There are a number of lives lost to pride and this is perfectly foreshadowed at the very beginning of the play.

This is a 3 hour long musical that doesn't really feel that long. The choreography, set design, costumes and songs that come out of this show are absolutely amazing. I was mesmerized from the beginning as they started out with a big high energetic song to get our bloods pumping.

I couldn't believe that most of this was done in rap. They did some clever things with this concept even making some of the legislative debates into rap battles. There are a number of nods to popular rappers like Biggie and A Tribe Called Quest in the lyrics. I was surprised that I could even recognize some of these homages.

It's a play that I would get younger people to watch. This is a great play that would help a younger audience relate to American history. Heck, I'm not even American and I got into the American history in this play. They got me hooting and hollering for America in this play and I was like what am I doing? It's that entertaining and that engrossing to watch. It's actually a shock to me that the play is that long. They even have an intermission in the middle of the play.

At some parts of the show I was wondering how these actors are able to remember all of those lines and choreographed moves day in and day out on Broadway. Everything was done so masterfully it was as if it was a movie. I had to remind myself at times that the whole play was done live. There was no cuts so if someone screwed up that was going to be on the video. It's absolutely amazing how perfect this show was done in a live format.

Overall, do yourself a favor and watch this play. It is definitely what my friends had hyped it up to be. Even if you're not into politics they make it so that you will still understand what's going on and be invested in the story. It takes a lot for a musical to grab my attention this well. I have to give this show a 9 out of 10. It is definitely worthy of multiple viewings and I will be sure to recommend it to the few friends that haven't watched this show yet.

review
1

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.