Geeks logo

My Review of 'Geostorm'

Not exactly the disaster movie that I was expecting. Actually it was totally not what I was expecting at all.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I'd heard of Geostorm way back when. I saw the trailers for it when it first came out, and I thought it would be interesting to watch, because I can be a sucker for disaster movies. This one stars Gerard Butler as the star character Jake Lawson. The guy who basically invents and creates the "Dutch Boy" program. Basically it's this computerized system up in the Earth's orbit to combat global warming. Well not really global warming, just the resulting storms from global warming.

I kind of worried about the movie, because it starred Gerard Butler. This guy hasn't been in a hit movie since his first big movie 300. That was over 10 years ago, and he's still gets to star in big blockbuster movies. I don't know what this guy does to keep his status up, but big props to him for being able to continue to hustle and get his big paychecks despite his bad track record.

The movie has some relevance to the climate issues we have today. We're getting more and more unexpected storms, and we may need something like "Dutch Boy" in our future. It's kind of an interesting concept that could probably never be done, because all of the countries in the world would never be able to work so well together.

In this movie everything seems to be very convenient. Jake Lawson suddenly creates this trillion dollar program that is funded by all nations, and well, it's supposed to be perfect. He gets kicked off of the program by his own brother, and years down the line there's some problems with "Dutch Boy." They have to get Jake back on the project to figure it out and fix it before the world goes into a "Geostorm."

The movie soon moves away from being the disaster film that I expected it to be and turns into a mystery movie. I started wondering who's tampering with "Dutch Boy," and what they are expecting to do with the program.

I saw some of the reviews for this movie, and I would have to disagree with them. This movie was entertaining. It's worth watching, despite the fact that it's somewhat predictable and very cheesy. Yes a ton of things conveniently fall into place for everyone in the movie. There's no real sense of disaster or danger for a lot of the characters. I can see how that can turn people off this movie. However, there is an entertainment factor to this movie that I can't really explain easily.

It's sort of like watching the first Transformers movie. It's a terrible movie, but I was entertained by the journey that it took me on. I started making some wild guesses in the beginning, and yeah some of them turned out to be true, but it was still fun. It's sort of like playing a video game on easy mode.

Sometimes it's more satisfying to play games in easy mode, because you've had a long hard day, and you just want to have a sense of accomplishment. That's sort of the same thing with Geostorm. If you're having a long hard day, you don't want to complicate your life with a complicated storyline with tons of twists and turns. You want the easy Coles notes to a complicated movie, and that's what this is. Everything is convenient, and you don't second guess anything.

Overall, if you've had a hard day, and you need to unwind with something brainless, then this is the popcorn movie for you. It's not as bad as everyone says it is. There are even some laughably cheesy situations that happen throughout the movie that you might even enjoy. I'll have to give this movie a 7 out of 10. I wouldn't watch it twice, but it was an enjoyable one time romp.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.