Geeks logo

My Review of 'Detective Pikachu'

A movie I thought couldn't be done in live-action, but here we are. This is what I thought of it.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I didn't know how studios could possibly pull off a live-action Pokemon movie, but they did it. It's a story of its own that doesn't make any mention of the original cast of Ash, Misty, Brock, and Team Rocket. That would be an interesting movie right there.

With the absence of these main characters, I didn't know what the movie was going to be about. The trailers did a fantastic job capturing my attention though.

Right off the bat, I have to commend the direction of the movie. It starts off with a world inhabited by Pokemon. It looks seamless and natural. I thought it would have been hard to integrate these creatures into a live-action movie, but the animators really did a good job melding the real world with the fictional Pokemon universe. You see Pokemon flying in the sky, running in the forest, and swimming in lakes. It's really a sight to see. I think if you're a big fan of Pokemon, then this is worth the price of admission alone because you really get absorbed into it.

The movie quickly starts off with someone escaping a laboratory by car, and in the snap of a finger, we notice a captured Mewtwo (the most powerful Pokemon of them all) awakening from hibernation and violently escaping the premises.

Mewtwo chases down the car and blows it up. Then the movie instantly jumps to the main character, Tim Goodman, played by Justice Smith. Tim is this young insurance salesman, but he had aspirations to become a Pokemon trainer when he was young. He gets news that something has happened to his father and he has to go back to the city to take care of things.

I thought I was in awe of the Pokemon universe in the beginning of the story, but when Tim arrives in Ryme City, I was taken aback once again. This felt like a living, breathing city with Pokemon and humans living among each other in harmony.

As a side note, I noticed there weren't any other animals other than Pokemon in this world. It made me wonder what meats they ate in this world, or is everyone vegan? Did they eat Pokemon cows, pigs, and chicken? I know it's a family film and I shouldn't think of that kind of stuff. What a dumb thought.

Anyways, here's where all the characters are introduced. Tim meets Lucy Stevens, played by Kathryn Newton. Lucy is an intern blog reporter trying to make it as a big-time reporter for a big television network they have in the city. She thinks something's up with Tim's dad's disappearance. She doesn't believe that he's dead. She thinks it's a cover up for something much bigger.

As Tim rummages through his dad's old apartment, he stumbles upon a container that has this weird gas. He opens it up by accident and a chain of events start to unfold that leads him to meet up with a Pikachu, played by Ryan Reynolds, that he can communicate with. For those out there that don't know, Pokemon and humans generally cannot communicate with one another normally.

Pikachu has a lot of wit and humor in his banter with pretty much everyone. He pretty much keeps the audience actively engaged in the story. I think if it wasn't for the Pikachu character, the movie would slog on for quite a while.

For the most part, I think that everything in this movie worked pretty well. Detective Pikachu is definitely reliant on the cuteness of the Pokemon and charisma of the characters. There are times that I found it pretty long and felt like I was zoning out of the movie, but I fought through them.

Overall, I enjoyed this movie, but had a few moments of boredom. I would give this movie a seven out of 10. I think if you're a huge fan of Pokemon, this is a no-brainer. You have to go see it because you'll know all the characters and all of the little Easter eggs sprinkled throughout the movie. If you're like me, a casual fan, you'll still enjoy it.

As someone that doesn't know anything about Pokemon, I think you can still enjoy the movie. I don't think you'll enjoy it that much because you won't identify with anything in the movie. The slow parts will really be slow. If this is you, I'd highly suggest waiting this out until it becomes a free stream video.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.