Geeks logo

My Review of "Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 7

Our favorite police precinct is back with their zany antics.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

Brooklyn Nine-Nine has been a consistently funny series. I found that they really elevated their level of stories in the last few seasons. There has been a sense of change with each proceeding season. Season 7 still has a lot of the bite that the previous seasons had but I found that they lacked a little compared to the tremendous last few seasons. Still as a standalone season it wasn't too bad so long as you know all the backstory behind each character.

This season starts off with the demotion of captain Holt. I have to say that this was actually a really funny idea because he's usually such an authoritarian presence. With this huge change I found that they had to change his character dramatically compared to the previous seasons.

Holt is now much more emotional and zany. He's gone through so many seasons as the straight laced police officer. I guess you can say we saw little cracks here and there in the last few seasons. This season he's a much more open book. There's a lot more exploration into his family life and his competitive nature. Don't get me wrong they have not ruined his character. It's just a drastic departure of his character of old.

One of the people that Holt and the rest of the gang had to deal with was officer Debbie. She had me howling in laughter at her ineptitude. She was such a great character that I wish would be able to continue on with the series but she was part of an earlier story arc. I really wished that she could have been a recurring character.

Of course, Jake has really been the focal point throughout the series. His character seems to be a little safe this season. All of his antics were merely a cog point in various story ideas. We all know that his life is about to change dramatically as well when Amy has their baby. There are a few episodes that explore the challenges they are experiencing throughout the pregnancy. It was fun how they'd hide Amy's pregnancy though.

There are of course the usual office games and competitions. I remembered they had used these type of episodes sparingly but this season it seemed that they relied on these games a little more. I'm not sure why office comedies always have so many of these episodes. They did the same thing with Community and the Office. I guess if it worked for those series they thought it would be a good idea to place them into this series as well.

The cast is still as funny as ever. I found that they had really developed the characters now that we have come to love every single one of them. That's probably why we all had a hard time seeing Gina leave the show a little while back. They do still have a large cast and I wonder how much longer they will all be able to stay with the show. The whole cast is made up of stars that could make it on other projects. I only wonder if they will ever have the same situation as Community where some of the cast find better opportunities elsewhere. Then again this series has lasted 7 years already. That's a very difficult feat to accomplish.

If you have been keeping up with the series you will love this season just as much as the other seasons. Still I have to admit that this season seemed a little more tame than previous seasons that had just passed. It's hard to keep the high caliber of writing that they have been able to keep up for so many years. This is a great season but I think it doesn't compare to last season only because it seemed a little safe.

Overall, I really like the fact that the series has continued and is continuing to give us high caliber episodes every week. The series seems to still have some gas in their tank. I would say that if you haven't seen the series before you should really start from the beginning though. I have to give this season a 7.5 out of 10. I can't wait to see next season but I have a feeling that the series is on its last legs.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.