Geeks logo

My Review of "American Ninja Warrior 2022: Season 14"

A return to form and the newcomers are killing it!

By Brian AnonymousPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like

American Ninja Warrior 2022: Season 14 has just finished and it's been a whirlwind season. This is one of my favorite sporting events that I see each year. The sheer comradery and wholesomeness of the show really gets to me every year. With each year we learn more and more about our ninja warriors.

This year we have a whole slew of younger contestants. I did mention that there was a changing of the guards in the last season and maybe a little in the season before. We're starting to see repeat faces from last year dominating again. Some of the familiar faces that we've come to love aren't making it to the later stages anymore.

It's all a reminder of the circle of life. We can't expect everyone to continue to be performing as they once did back in the day despite their efforts. Still we cheer them because we know and love them from previous seasons. We just want them to have another great season.

I also love the fact that we're still seeing senior citizens and individuals of all abilities competing in the initial stages. Those are some of the best episodes because we can see how hard they've pushed themselves despite being an ordinary joe like me and you. It really a sporting event that everyone can relate to.

As always they dive deep into the personal lives of the contestants and it's great to see their struggles and the charitable causes that they're fighting for. I think this show does a lot of good in getting people to help out.

This season the young guns were rising to the top again. I barely saw many of the veterans up on the last stages anymore. We have teenagers going after the coveted prize just like last year. This year is a little more special. It felt a little more like the old American Ninja Warrior. They actually had fans in the stands and fellow contestants cheering. I guess some of the sounds were a bit piped in like before but it felt a little more like the old show that we know and love. I'm sure that has something to do with some of the performance from our contestants this year.

One of the standout stars for me was RJ Roman and Flip Rodriguez. Flip has been a veteran and has a long storied career with the franchise. It was really great to see the bond between these two as they pushed themselves to conquer the tournament. You can really see how the two of them really helped develop one another. One would help the other with technique while the other would help with learning to fight to stay alive. It was a really great dynamic and beautiful to see how far they went in the show. I was really rooting for these two during the show.

The other really big standout star was Kaden Lebsack. You truly know he's a ninja great to be able to be the last ninja standing for two years in a row! That's a hell of a feat and I know for sure this year he's going to work his butt off in order to finally climb the mountain within the allotted 30 seconds. It must really burn him bad to be so close to a million dollars twice in a row. I really hope he's able to do it next year.

All the while I feel like all of the contestants are like an extended family that I keep up with every season. This show is sort of a like a family reunion whenever I get to see it and hear back from all of our stars. Also have you noticed how much better the female contestants are getting? They're at par with the guys now in such a short period of time.

Overall, I really had fun with this season. It's back to the fun that we're all used to and I want more! I can't wait until the next season already especially since 5 contestants had made it to the 4th stage! I don't know if they're going to make it more difficult next year as a result. You know the network doesn't want to give away that million dollars. I have to give this season an 8 out of 10. See you next year ANW!

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.