Geeks logo

My Review of "All The Bright Places"

An interesting take on people with depression.

By Brian AnonymousPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

All The Bright Places is probably a perfect name for this movie. It just came out recently on Netflix and I think it might do pretty well among the younger demographic.

This movie stars Elle Fanning as Violet Markey and Justice Smith as Theodore Finch. It's basically your basic love story but with a twist. I guess you can say this a modern take on the traditional love story. They even follow all of the love story tropes that you come to expect.

So this movie starts off with Theodore going for a job. He sees Violet standing at the edge of a bridge. She obviously looks like she's going to jump and perhaps commit suicide. He goes over and stops her and I guess he doesn't let her forget that he helped her down.

Looking back at the movie Theodore is a horrible person. In the movie he has to go to a guidance councilor but there's no progress because Theodore is uncooperative. Everyone around Theodore is telling him again and again to get help but he refuses to believe he has a problem.

He thinks others have problems and I guess Violet is his project to fix. It just so happens that there is a school project to help him get more time with her. The project is to make a presentation on two amazing places in their state of Indiana. This gives Theodore opportunity to open Violet up and get her to do things that she's been scared to do.

As Violet opens up she tells Theodore why she truly is the way she is. They had moved to Indiana from California and her sister had died in a horrific car accident by the bridge that she was going to commit suicide from.

Complicated issues for anyone to deal with. It's funny how Theodore felt it was okay for him to force Violet to reveal these secrets but it wouldn't work the other way around. Violet would ask Theodore the same type of questions but Theodore would shut her out.

From the beginning of the movie I didn't like Violet thinking this would be the usual brooding teenager but she grew on me. By the end of the movie I really felt for her and really despised Theodore. The guy is a very greedy, selfish jerk. He doesn't think of anyone but himself.

I understand that he had issues with his mental health but he had no regard for his friends or family when it came to any of his actions. It's as if no one in his life would ever tell him what's right or wrong. Now I agree, that his backstory claims that he didn't have anyone to tell him but I'm sure he knows whats right from wrong. You can tell that from some of his actions and his sort of apology.

It's terrible but there's a lot of Theodores out there. I guess that's life but the movie doesn't even go to address that his actions were vile and terrible. The movie makers try to make us feel bad for everyone in the end but really this should be a lesson for viewers. If you are going through something bad why put it on the people you love? It's okay to tell people your problems. It looked as though this guy would constantly take the easier path out until the very end.

Overall, I thought this was an okay movie but the ending really irked me because of the message that this movie was giving out. Maybe it was a lack of a message that got to me but it didn't settle in my stomach that well. For the most part it was an enjoyable film but there are some things that kind of got on my nerves. I would have to give this movie a 6.5 out of 10. I probably wouldn't recommend this to any of my friends but it was okay time while I was watching it.

review
Like

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.