Geeks logo

'My Neighbor Totoro' - A Movie Review

'My Neighbor Totoro' captures the essence of childhood, innocence, and imagination.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Come on, if we get to the bus stop now, maybe Totoro will be there to wait with us!

Directed and written by Hayao Miyazaki, My Neighbor Totoro is an endearing story about two young girls and their dad moving into a new home. As their mother is recovering from an illness in the hospital, the girls explore, and meet Totoro, a gentle spirit.

Released in 1988, My Neighbor Totoro is Hayao Miyazaki’s most beautiful masterpiece. It captures the essence of childhood innocence and imagination. I love the tone of the story. While the girls are having fun running around the yard with their dad, there is an underlying sense of stress, as the family has to put on a brave face.

Satsuki and Mei are the most fun characters I have watched on-screen in a while. I loved watching them run around the new house, opening and closing doors while the younger sister mimics the oldest and tags along. Their relationship plays out so natural, and is very believable.

Like every father, Tatsuo loves to joke around with his daughters. He encourages them, especially when they’re down. Being a parent is one of the hardest jobs. Sometimes, you have to put on a brave face for the sake of your kids. You’ll get a kick out of his exuberance, and how he’s always wanted to live in a haunted house.

Although she is not related to them, Granny instantly becomes a supportive figure to the girls, giving advice and a shoulder to cry on. That really spoke to me. You never knew who will make an impact on your life.

I also got a kick out of Kanta, the girl-hating awkward little boy who gradually comes to like Satsuki and Mei, helping them with their problems.

And then, there is the beloved beast, Totoro. Although he is gigantic and ferocious-looking, he is anything but. Every time he appeared on-screen, I couldn’t help but smile. No wonder, Totoro has an addicting, gigantic smile! The Catbus has a fun design. I wish I could go for a ride myself.

The girls waiting at the bus stop in the rain is the movie’s most famous scene. I especially adored the scene where Mei meets Totoro for the first time, tickling him, and laughing at him.

Since My Neighbor Totoro was originally released in Japan, the film has been dubbed in English. Dakota Fanning and Elle Fanning voice the energetic sisters. The rest of the cast includes Tim Daly (Tatsuo), Pat Carroll (Granny), Paul Butcher (Kanta), and the incredulous Frank Welker who deliver the yawns, groans, and animalistic noises of Totoro and the Catbus.

Miyazaki’s animation is breathtaking. He captures every single detail. Everything, including dirt sticking to the character's feet. The sequence of rain pouring was done very well. And, the soundtrack is also quite meaningful. It felt like its own character, at times.

Having an ill family member is never an easy time, especially for young children. My Neighbor Totoro has a strong message. You can only be brave for so long. Don’t be afraid to make known how you are truly feeling. Having had ill family members, I can relate to the girls' inner turmoil.

The film’s tone gradually changes as Satsuki and Mei run about the house until they’re running for a very different reason. Miyazaki knows how to pull at the audience's heartstrings, make you laugh, and feel as if you are not alone.

Since its release, My Neighbor Totoro is proclaimed to be a must-see film, and I agree. I have no idea how I have not seen this film until now. Enjoy the film on a rainy day. You don’t want to miss this charming film, for all families to enjoy.

review
Like

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.