Geeks logo

My Formula for Finding a Great Show “Just Like That”

You can find the shows you like regardless of preferred genre based on your personal criteria. What exactly makes you want to watch a show?

By Julie "US Writer" Anne Published 3 years ago 5 min read
2
My Formula for Finding a Great Show “Just Like That”
Photo by Alireza Esmaeeli on Unsplash

You have your reasons for choosing the shows you do. It’s personal. With that in mind, I realize not everyone will appreciate what I like to watch. It’s up to you to decide what matters to you when you choose your next set of bingeworthy episodes. I’m going to share with you my criteria with examples first. Then, I'll give you hints about how to search for shows you’d like based on what you already saw.

My Personal Criteria for Picking Shows to Watch

  1. Strong, independent working females usually in creative fields but not always
  2. Close friendship bonds whether my age or half that
  3. Characters who represent me or who I want to be
  4. Familiar characters from other shows
  5. Relatable challenges of people in the shows
  6. Storylines that have happened or could happen in real life
  7. Appreciation of fashion and art

My Top Pick Based on the Above Five Criteria

If 'Sex and the City,' of course, then 'And Just like That' will be the next one I see.

As a beginning freelance writer and a person who still was single in my mid 30s, I started watching Sex and the City reruns in 2004. For me, it’s a given that Carrie Bradshaw is (minus the cheating and clinginess) the kind of person I want to be. Miranda Hobbes and Charlotte York also are close to my age, and I identify with much of what they deal with in dating and relationships.

Unlike these three characters, however, I never had children or got married. this was one reason why I sometimes identified with Samantha who unfortunately will not be returning in the SATC reboot.

Both Miranda and Charlotte appreciate fashion as well, and Charlotte even worked in an art field at galleries. However, it's Samantha who probably appreciates the shoes and clothing as much as Carrie does. Many people reportedly are sad that Samantha probably won't join them in the "Just Like That" series, but life goes on.

Since Carrie, Miranda and Charlotte are close to my age, I’m looking forward to seeing them again in And Just Like That when it comes out on HBO Max.

I will be 50 in three years, so it will be easy to follow their lives in the new series. I will also know what to expect in 5-10 years, whereas I'm already premenopausal. This show, by the way, started out the way the original Sex and the City series did. And Just Like That is also inspired by a book by Candace Bushnell. Do you notice a pattern here? I will explain more later.

On a more personal note, I did spend some time in New York in 1995. My original purpose was to attend writing workshops and see Fifth Avenue up close. Therefore, any show that features writing and fashion in The City triggers some nostalgia in me, which is why I'm now delving more into Bushnell's writings that birth the SATC enterprise.

How to Choose Your Next Favorite Show Based on What You Watched

By Roman Mager on Unsplash

First, make a mental list of what your ideal characters would be. In doing so, think of what you like about the people portrayed in the shows you already watched. Then, think of the kinds of themes, genres and storylines you prefer. Examples include detective, law or mystery or fantasy -- or if you're like me, female cosmopolitan culture.

Use these tips to find new bingeworthy shows:

1. Watch out for suggestions.

Your streaming provider most likely will offer you a "because you watched...(name of show)" or "if you like...(name of show) then you'll like...(name of show)." This doesn't always happen, however. Sometimes, you might have to search for the right shows and even watch an episode or two.

After using a streaming service a few times, however, you are less likely to have to search and succumb to trial and error. The new suggestions will keep coming and will become more relevant to your viewing history. Still, if you must search, you need a strategy.

2. Search by topic or theme.

I lost count after about seven times that it has been so far that I've seen the original SATC series. The first movie, I just saw it again for at least the fourth time. Therefore, it seemed fitting to find other shows I would appreciate. I decided to look up "fashion fiction," and this helped me land on "The Bold Type," of which I saw all but the fifth season, which is expected to air sometime this year. That's just one example. For you, perhaps you would look up "detective shows" or "shows like Twilight" or other relevant phrases.

3. Research by writers or authors.

I never realized it, but the original and the new SATC are either written or inspired by Candace Bushnell. Even though they might not have all the same scenes or characters, the origin was Bushnell. This makes sense to me especially after finding out Candace also wrote Lipstick Jungle (2008-2009), another fashion fiction show set in NY. So now, I recommend that you research for shows by the original book author or by series writers.

4. Subscribe to notifications.

This is actually how I first learned about And Just Like That. I saw a notification on my phone. Either your streaming services or preferred celebrity update sources can provide you this. This is especially ideal if you want to watch a show when it first comes out even if you prefer to wait four weeks to start them and watch them all at once.

how to
2

About the Creator

Julie "US Writer" Anne

Find Julie on FB or Twitter @juilieuswriter or by searching "Julie US Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.