Geeks logo

My five all-time favourite Lego builds

It’s like trying to pick a favourite child (thankfully I only have one child, so she’s equally my most and least favourite)

By D-DonohoePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
4
My five all-time favourite Lego builds
Photo by Ryan Quintal on Unsplash

I have owned Lego since I was four, I’m a Lego nerd and I own more Lego than I have space to display it, I do Lego set reveal videos, and I have written Lego fan fiction (check out “City Built on a Broken Baseplate”). Yes, I am nuts about Lego. So, picking my favourite sets is not easy, but I’ll give it shot. I applied the following criteria when making my decisions: fun to build, sentimental value, whether it stays up for long or quickly gets disassembled, and just sheer coolness of the set.

The first set I ever owned

This lunar lander set was released in 1975 and I got it for my fourth birthday. The first set I ever owned held a special place in my heart, I could re-live the moon landing, I could be an astronaut or even a space monster with the correct assembly of bricks. I blame this set for putting me on the path to Lego fanaticism! Had I not received this set maybe I would have just saved my money.

The 1975 LEGO moon landing kit

The next generation of Apollo 11

To mark the 50th anniversary of man landing on the moon, Lego released another set, the Apollo 11 Lunar lander set. I couldn’t resist, I had to buy that one as well. The changes in Lego technology were apparent between the two sets which depicted the same event in history. They get displayed side-by-side and are an amazing source of discussion when people see the two sets.

The two LEGO lunar lander sets side by side

He’s no good to me dead!

Someone thought to combine Star Wars and Lego, was this smart? Well, if you ask my heart then yes this was a stroke of genius! If you ask my wallet, then NO, this was a bad bad bad idea, and I will never forgive you. So, there are a few Star Wars sets I love, but by far the best set I own is my Boba Fett helmet. Even before the Book of Boba Fett it was a great reminder of the most feared bounty hunter in the universe.

The most feared bounty hunter in the universe

I can visit the world through Lego

I enjoy the Architecture Series of Lego because it means I can visit memorable places from around the World (even in COVID lockdown). I have visited Washington a few times and the White House is just one of those iconic locations. I loved building the set but also enjoyed reading all the interesting facts about the building during the build. I could be the President that I want to be, there's no kicking me out because on have consistent terms in office. I do sometimes think which past-President might be selected if they were to make a minifigure to go with the set.

That’s my truck!

Last one out of the five is Ford Raptor. A truck I can only dream of owning one day IRL, but this scaled down version is still impressive in its bright orange paint job. I can imagine cruising in this bad boy both on and off road.

The Technic sets always bring their A-game and this one is no different, even if I do seem to always find myself getting three quarters of the way through only to find that I have miscounted at a critical step and things aren’t lining up. This then results in fits of swearing followed by a disassembly to the point of my error and putting it back together again.

No doubt you have your own favourites, this is the beauty of Lego that it can appeal to so many for so many different reasons.

collectibles
4

About the Creator

D-Donohoe

Amateur storyteller, LEGO fanatic, leader, ex-Detective and human. All sorts of stories: some funny, some sad, some a little risqué all of them told from the heart.

Thank you all for your support.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    I love reading about the things other people are very passionate about. This was such an enjoyable read. I loved it!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Wonderful lego story!!! The vintage lego pictures were an added treat!!! Loving this!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.