Geeks logo

My Comfort Characters All Have Daddy Issues

I wonder what that means

By HufflecupPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Everyone has comfort characters, I think. If watching a show over and over is an indicator of who those characters happen to be, I have a big three; Sam Winchester, Shawn Spencer, and Nick Miller.

Three drastically different shows but these characters all have fundamental similarities. Will do anything for their friends/loved ones, uncomfortable acknowledging their intelligence, and tumultuous relationships with their fathers.

Sam and Shawn are both classic examples of having the same bullheaded personalities as their fathers but with opposing values and perspectives of the world. Their fathers fostered environments where their sons natural abilities were twisted to function in the world as their fathers saw it.

For Sam that meant his natural smarts being put towards monster hunting. For Shawn it was always about being molded into a super star police detective. Both sons rebelled. Sam went to college and then almost law school. Using his brains to try having a normal life. Shawn just completely denies his intelligence, bouncing from job to job and then landing on becoming a psychic detective just to show he can live his life how he wants without having to take life seriously.

Meanwhile Nick Miller had an absentee father, plain and simple, who happened to be a con-man. So when he was around he was lying to and manipulating Nick. Nick is shown to be a creative person as a writer, who likes to come up with creative solutions to problems, is very independent, and was academically smart enough to pass the exam to become a lawyer. However, none of these things really shine through until Nick becomes more confident with the help of his friends.

Another thing all three have in common is their undying loyalty to their friends. For Sam, this trait is constantly on display. He is always desperately searching for a way to beat the bad guy without losing anyone he cares about. He trusts people more readily than his brother so in his mind they are quick to become like family.

Shawn is known for hiding his emotions under perceived immaturity and pop culture references but he drops everything to help his friends and family. To the point of blatant recklessness. His willingness to take on absurd private cases purely because he believes in the innocence of his clients and their genuine fear is also a strong indicator that Shawn cares greatly for people in need of help.

Nick is sometimes selfish but their are countless examples of him giving up his own self-interest to do something for his friends. He also quite often the confidante for everyone in his friend group because Nick has been through a lot and gives out pretty good advice when put in that position.

I see a lot of myself in these characters. My relationship with my father confuses me because it wasn't a good one before the age of 16, I define myself mostly by my intellect and ability to learn things because that was my only constant thing I was good at but still somehow doubt my abilities, and once I consider someone a friend they can't get rid of me. I know what it feels like to go unnoticed and not feel like anyone's favorite person and I don't want anyone to feel that.

I always find myself wishing for Shawn's bravado and charm, Sam's determination, and Nick's friend group. But because I can't be them I just try to be the version of myself that is more like them. Until that all really takes hold, they will remain my faithful comfort characters.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Hufflecup

I want nothing more than to dedicate my life to writing, so I figured I would start here to test the waters. I will be submitting stories to as many communities as possible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.