Geeks logo

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film

Part 4

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film
Photo by Samuel Ramos on Unsplash

As you know, I have given quite a few of my unpopular opinions about films by now and we are on part four of this series. I honestly do not know when this is going to end because I have quite a lot of opinions that people would consider unpopular. I also have quite a lot of opinions that people would call 'standard' - but nobody cares about standard opinions do they, of course I want you to read this. I want you to understand that there are numerous opinions about film that people would consider unpopular by many, many people. For example: did you know that Christopher Lee's favourite film that he is actually in is "The Wicker Man"? Well, it's an unpopular opinion but it's an opinion and it's his - nobody can tell him otherwise.

So let's have a look at another of my three unpopular opinions, I apologise in advance.

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film

I don't like films that depict Serial Killers/Infamous Criminals as the main character. Allow me to explain...

I do not like films like "Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil and Vile" in which the criminal is almost romanticised by the film. But films like "Zodiac" in which the criminal is viewed as a very real threat and the investigation is covered in detail. I think that films that romanticise the criminal are really just asking for younger teens to create these online accounts of 'being in love' with these people when they are only really in love with the fictional portrayal of these people that have been romanticised. It can really mess up young teenagers psychologically and is very irresponsible because not only can it mess them up, but older teenagers and adults will actually seek out to verbally abuse these children because of their viewpoints on these online accounts and that is even worse. If you don't believe me then just go on to any singular online forum and take a look. It is terrifying and I think that Hollywood should be held entirely accountable for this. Young people are impressionable and therefore, you should not be making these romanticised criminal movies.

Musical movies are just not very good at all

As someone who studied musicals at school, was once in the drama club some ten years' ago and someone who performed musicals on a regular basis, musicals in movies are very fake. They are clearly perfected to the extreme through filming and re-filming, the perspective and everything is just all wrong. If you enjoy it though, go ahead - I'm not taking anything away from you. I think that enjoying a live musical is far better because of the way in which musicals are supposed to give you the live experience as a subdivision of live theatre. But, if you cannot attend a live performance of musicals, then please enjoy your movie musical and completely ignore my opinions. They're just opinions [except for the previous ones, people should just stop doing that or eventually I'll throw up].

Please stop with the slavery narrative virtuosity

White Hollywood seems to have this obsession with appreciating or partaking in the slave narrative films and then giving themselves a pat on the back for being 'virtuous' when they should instead be promoting the great acting of their Black counterparts who are doing a far more important job of portraying the main character[s]. Stop showing yourself accepting and promoting them and instead just promote them by stepping aside. It is very important to let these narratives be the stories of the Black community and not as a way for Hollywood to just virtue signal because if they are not going to step out of the way then this will only perpetuate the stereotype that White Hollywood is out of touch, disconnected from real people and disconnected to anyone who is not like themselves, including in race and colour. They can make the films, just do not contribute to their own lack of connection because at the moment, especially in the last ten years, it is a very bad look for Hollywood.

So, what do you think of my opinions - except the first one which is more of a rant, these are just opinions. And yes, they got a little harsher than last time. I promise something more light-hearted next time. Again, I apologise.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

195K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.