Geeks logo

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film

Part 3

By Annie KapurPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film
Photo by Ahmet Yalçınkaya on Unsplash

As we have previously discussed, I have some unpopular opinions when it comes to film. People often find it difficult to accept them and accept that there are certain films that are considered great that I simply do not enjoy or that there are certain actors/actresses who are under or overrated. But I think the one that people get the most pissed off about is when I say bad things about films that they absolutely love. I'm not going to lie, I would be pissed off if someone unironically slated "I'm Not There" - but everyone is entitled to their opinion about something that is considered to be entertainment. This is simply my opinion. It is not a fact. It is not a universally acknowledged opinion. Hey, I don't even know if anyone else thinks this apart from me [shrugs shoulders]. But who cares? It's a bit of fun, we can have a laugh about it and then we can all move on.

Let us therefore take a look at my three unpopular opinions about films and this is part three of that so I guess we are on opinions seven through to nine. Thanks for sticking around for this long.

My 3 Unpopular Opinions About Film III

I did not enjoy "La La Land"

"La La Land" is one of those films that I just straight up do not enjoy. I'm not going to lie, I thought it was pretty bad and boring. There was something about it that I had thought that I had seen a million times and it is clearly a rip-off of "A Star is Born". But really, I just could not get into the musical movie, it seemed a little forced and a little predictable. I felt like it was just Hollywood sucking up to itself in a time where it really should not have [Hollywood was under a lot of fire when "La La Land" was released]. I thought that not only the film was boring, but the era in which it was released was really badly timed. You can enjoy it, I do not mind - but I cannot watch that film without thinking that Hollywood are being purposefully ignorant.

The first time I watched "A Clockwork Orange" I was not all too impressed

The first time I watched "A Clockwork Orange" I was about sixteen maybe even seventeen and was actively avoiding it until then because I had actually read the book and did not enjoy how graphic it was. When I did end up watching the film though, I thought I would actually like the more visual sense of the strange language that is used in the movie. However, I ended up being sick and kind of going a bit grey [I was a bit sensitive to this stuff back then. Oh who am I kidding? I'm sensitive to that stuff now...] But after that, I was admittedly hating on the film for its graphic depictions of horrid situations because my little film brain could not put horrid situation to metaphor back then. But, as I am older I can respect the film and think it is brilliant but I'll be damned if I am going to watch it more than twice in my lifetime.

I do not agree with the Academy Awards

When it comes to the Academy Awards, I have been very vocal about the way in which they need to updated their system now that movies are far bigger than just the critical opinion. It used to be that movies were held in premieres that were invitation only and small, sacred affairs. But now, we have movie premieres that are literally on TV, thousands of people go to them, tickets are sold and actors, directors etc. also attend, whether they were in the movie or not. I wrote an article called "Is it time to scrap the Oscars?" in which I discuss how disconnected the Academy Awards are from the audience of the masses that actually watch the movies and how Hollywood drifts further and further from reality with these awards as one of the many catalysts for that.

So there we are, some of my unpopular opinions on film that you have to take with a pinch of salt if you enjoy these things.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Annie Kapur

200K+ Reads on Vocal.

English Lecturer

🎓Literature & Writing (B.A)

🎓Film & Writing (M.A)

🎓Secondary English Education (PgDipEd) (QTS)

📍Birmingham, UK

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.