Geeks logo

My 2022 Reading Goals

January 2022

By Elfie RiverdellPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have never really set myself definite yearly reading goals. This year, I decided to create a reading journal that I can actually stick to. Part of my 2022 reading journal (which you can watch me set up here) includes a space for me to include some of my reading goals for the year.

Today I thought I would share with you some of my 2022 reading goals

Rick Riordan

I have a couple of reading goals related to Rick Riordan, so I thought I would group them together here. My first Rick Riordan themed reading goal is to start - and finish - the Kane Chronicles. This is a trilogy I’ve had on my physical TBR for months, and I really need to get to it. My second Rick Riordan themed reading goal is to read the Heroes of Olympus. This series has been on my physical TBR for even longer, and I would quite like to dive into this series this year, finally.

Agatha Christie

I have read a few books by Agatha Christie now, and I’d really like to read more. There are SO many, so I haven’t given myself a set number of how many of her stories I would like to read this year, but I’d like to get a fair way through the list!

Tackling my ARC pile

I have a really bad habit of requesting ARCs on NetGalley and forgetting about them, so I now have a pretty hefty list of eARCs I need to get to. I’m hoping that 2022 will be the year I get my sh*t together, and actually read the eARCs I’m approved for…

Book Clubs

I am a member of several virtual book clubs, and I have struggled to keep up with them all in the past. I want 2022 to be the year that I actually organise my reading, and make an extra effort to participate in the many book clubs I’m a part of.

Reading Journal

Keeping up with my reading journal is one of my goals for this year. I have started reading journals a few times, but never stuck to them. I’m really pleased with how my 2022 reading journal set up turned out, so I’m feeling positive about the idea of being able to keep up with it throughout the year.

Diversify

I’d like to focus on reading more diversely this year. This is something I’ve been working on for a few years now, but I’d like to make it one of my priorities when it comes to choosing which books I read and buy.

Buddy Reads

I really enjoy buddy reading books, as it is the perfect opportunity to share your thoughts and feelings while reading, with someone experiencing the same story at the same time. I have a few buddy read ideas planned, so we’ll see where those plans take me in 2022

Audiobooks

I want to try and utilise audiobooks to help me get more reading into my daily life. I could be listening to audiobooks on my drive to work, instead of listening to the radio. Slotting an extra twenty minutes of reading into my day by listening to an audiobook when driving or doing chores could have a huge impact on how much I’m able to read.

Poetry

I’m working on my first poetry collection right now, and I’d like to make an effort to read more poetry this year. I enjoy poetry but find it tricky to find poetry that speaks to me. I don’t enjoy reading poetry which deals with difficult topics such as sexual assault etc. and that seems to be a key topic in a lot of the poetry collections I have come across recently. If you have any recommendations for me, please let me know!

So there are a few of my reading goals for 2022! Do you have any goals for the new year? Let me know in the comments!

literature
Like

About the Creator

Elfie Riverdell

Author of The Forest of Fallen Stars (May '21) and The Girl Who Breathed Fire ('22)

Blogger & BookTuber

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.