Geeks logo

Movies as a Tool for Coping

Is it ok to escape reality?

By Asterion AvocadoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Movies as a Tool for Coping
Photo by Mason Kimbarovsky on Unsplash

Let's start with an assumption. Let's say films are concerned with escaping reality instead of addressing it. I definitely use them with this aim in mind; often, and consciously.

But to understand why, we need to digress a little.

What are depression and anxiety?

Depression and anxiety are distinct disorders, yet they frequently coexist. They also have therapies that are comparable.

Anxiety can be a sign of major depression. Depression that is precipitated by an anxiety illness, such as generalised anxiety disorder, panic disorder, or separation anxiety disorder, is also frequent. Many people experience anxiety disorders, as well as severe depression.

Symptoms of these illnesses are generally alleviated by psychological counselling (psychotherapy), drugs such as antidepressants, or a combination of the two.

Why do they occur? Is a bit of a mixed bag. With me, is a matter of brain chemical balance, so and so childhood, and intrusive thoughts that won't leave me the fuck alone. Pills help.

Movies too.

By Myke Simon on Unsplash

Movies for suppression

Distraction is the only thing that consoles us for miseries and yet it is itself the greatest of our miseries.

― Blaise Pascal

You know, maybe movies teach us willingly - through content, form, or themes - to avoid problems and/or other aspects of reality. Maybe, instead, that's why we watch them.

Growing up, I loved philosophy, specifically the classics. Those taught in Italian high schools. Why am I telling you this, you ask? Enter the concept of divertissement, from the astute mind of Blaise Pascal.

It stuck with me. More than any other tips and tricks on how to fight depression…even though Pascal might not have intended for the quote to be used that way.

Divertissement is the idea that people distract themselves with futile things to avoid pain.

I have often said that the sole cause of man's unhappiness is that he does not know how to stay quietly in his room.

Diversion cannot provide prolonged satisfaction because it places the source of happiness outside of ourselves; as a result, our happiness is dependent on things that are frequently beyond our control, leaving us prone to be disturbed by a thousand and one mishaps, which eventually produce pain. Cinemas may close, my phone's battery may die, I might be without internet.

So sure, diversion as a method for eluding pain and reality is not the safest. But is it wrong?

After all, it has helped me

Good movies, easy-watch movies, any movie.

By Thomas William on Unsplash

For example, I always maintain that even though I'm unaware of the reasons why, The Butterfly Effect has helped me break up with my ex (a very toxic relationship).

But some good movies like that are just…good movies like that. And we do need it. We need art, we need to vicariously experience the wider human experience. Or more.

There is so much a movie can do.

Some movies take me out of stages of mental fogginess. When I need to feel satisfied, smart, or intellectually stimulated.

Movies such as Shutter Island, The Imitation Game, Mulholland Drive, Perfetti Sconosciuti, The Lobster, Agora. They make my brain tickle, in a very good way.

Then again sometimes, if not often, I tell myself I need to watch something easy, really, deeply, unconcerned with the problems of my life. May be why I have watched Bridesmaids ten times, as well as Pitch Perfect (yes, all of them).

We need to escape reality to be alive. How? Through experiencing reality vicariously.

That is why the ancient Greeks loved theatre, is it not? At least, that's what they say. For pathos and catharsis.

That's the same reason I love cinemas.

What would my psychologist say?

Well, maybe, they would say that there is a time for everything. And suppressing one's emotions and thoughts is not always a good idea. We gotta accept, manage, and move on.

Still, movies are good. Prove me wrong.

entertainment
Like

About the Creator

Asterion Avocado

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.