Geeks logo

Movie Review: 'Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny'

Warmed over nostalgia cannot sustain my interest in Dial of Destiny.

By Sean PatrickPublished 11 months ago 7 min read
2

Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny (2023)

Directed by James Mangold

Written by Jez Butterworth, John Henry Butterworth, David Koepp, James Mangold

Starring Harrison Ford, Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Mads Mikkelsen, Boyd Holbrook

Release Date June 30th, 2023

Published June 29th, 2023

The thing that bugs me about our microwaved nostalgia culture is how often I fall for that nostalgia. Take my reaction to The Flash. I did like that movie, I stand by my positive review, problematic star aside, but the reality is that my judgment was clouded by nostalgia for my childhood. Seeing Michael Keaton in the Batsuit again, playing the role that was so important to my childhood, made me very emotional. Was I emotional because the presentation was artful and meaningful? Sort of, but I can't deny how much nostalgia for my own childhood colored that reaction.

Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny is that moment of seeing Michael Keaton as Batman again in The Flash as an entire movie and the effect didn't last nearly as long. In the first few minutes of Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny, the legendary John Williams score played and my breath caught; for a moment as I was transported back in time to being a very little kid seeing Raiders of the Lost Ark for the first time. I was transported back to the even more significant impact, for me, of seeing Temple of Doom in a movie theater with my mother. That John Williams score is an emotional trigger for me and for millions of other Gen-X movie nerds.

Then a ragged and grumpy Harrison Ford came on screen and the adventure began and my mind began trying to rationalize what I was seeing. Instead of actually enjoying the action of Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny, most of my mental energy was dedicated to convincing myself that I was enjoying this rehash of greatest hits from an aging action star and a character well past his relevance. Even as I was falling in love with Phoebe Waller Bridge, who joins the franchises as Dr. Jones' heretofore unknown Goddaughter, Helena, I could not escape the mental gymnastics I was having to perform to will myself to enjoy something familiar and formerly beloved.

Is Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny bad? No, not really. The film is directed by James Mangold who is a perfectly solid, professional director. Jez and John Henry Butterworth are solid screenwriters with a solid track record and David Koepp, co-credited on this screenplay, is among the most successful screenwriters in Hollywood. The pieces are there to make a perfectly satisfying action movie. So why don't I like this movie? Why am I having to convince myself that this is good? It starts with a half-baked and convoluted plot that lacks the energy and invention of the first two Indiana Jones movies.

Aside from Phoebe Waller Bridge, Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny appears tired and lurching toward adventure as opposed to the excitement and vigor of its youthful beginnings 42 years ago. The original adventures weren't bullet proof in terms of plotting but they made up for plot holes with energy, excitement and adventure. Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny however, feels obligatory and that feeling works to reveal more about the poorly thought out, too many cooks in the kitchen, plot holes. Three screenwriters and director James Mangold have clearly cobbled together pieces into the whole of Dial of Destiny and the patchwork is all too clear.

One of the biggest problems is what I have come to call 'Main Character Powers.' Once our protagonists are identified, they will not be in any real danger because they have 'Main Character Powers.' Good movies get around this with clever plotting and misdirection. Heck, Indiana Jones has always had 'Main Character Powers,' but it's never been more obvious and irksome as it is in Dial of Destiny where the rest of the movie isn't strong enough to hide the problem that no sense of danger exists. I just kept thinking, 'why don't they just kill Indiana Jones?'

Mads Mikkelsen and Boyd Holbrook are the big bads of Dial of Destiny and in continuously boneheaded moves, they continue to leave Indiana Jones and his Goddaughter alive, even when killing them would be the prudent move. They certainly aren't opposed to killing people, an old friend of Indiana Jones, a friend we've not met in previous adventures, is brutally slain in a scene that is painful in its obviousness and damning in its predictability. That 'old friend' didn't have main character powers, nor did his loyal crew, he was dead the second Indiana Jones mentioned him.

The search for the MacGuffin, the titular 'Dial of Destiny' is deeply dumb as Indiana Jones leads the bad guys to the things they are searching for three different times. If Indiana Jones had simply destroyed the Dial of Destiny, as his old friend asked him to, the Nazis wouldn't have a chance to go back in time and try and re-fight World War 2. If Indy and Helena don't go looking for the other pieces of the MacGuffin, if they'd just stayed home, the Nazis would never come close to getting the thing they are looking for.

I'm pulling strings here that I would prefer not to pull but the movie isn't strong enough in terms of action, adventure, or humor to give me anything else to focus on. The original Indiana Jones adventures weren't exactly flawless but each carried a particular quality and charm in characterization, action, suspense and humor that made it easy to overlook the flaws. The latest adventure feels like a bloated corporate product, market tested for maximum box office and nostalgia appeal. No one seems to have cared enough tighten up the scripting, everyone was more concerned with making sure the ad campaign would work.

Indiana Jones and the Dial of Destiny had me trying very hard to will myself to enjoy it. In the end, I was exhausted by it. The warmed over nostalgia has worn completely thin for me. I simply could not remain engaged and invested, especially at the end when the force fed nostalgia really reaches peak levels of cheesy. It's possible that your tolerance for force fed nostalgia will be higher than mine and you may be able to find some pleasure in Indiana Jones and The Dial of Destiny. I wish you luck in that. For me, I am tired of having my childhood memories microwaved and served back to me like leftovers parading as a gourmet meal.

Find my archive of more than 20 years and nearly 2000 movie reviews at SeanattheMovies.blogspot.com. Find my modern review archive on my Vocal Profile, linked here. Follow me on Twitter at PodcastSean. Follow the archive blog on Twitter at SeanattheMovies. Listen to me talk about movies on the Everyone's a Critic Movie Review Podcast. If you have enjoyed what you have read, consider subscribing to my writing on Vocal. If you'd like to support my writing, you can do so by making a monthly pledge or by leaving a one time tip.

New offer: I am now accepting requests for movie reviews. If there is a movie you'd like me to watch and write about, make a $10.00 donation to my Ko-Fi Account, linked here. I cannot promise the review will go the way you expect, but I will make it as entertaining and informative as possible. All donations go to support my book project, an exhaustive history of the horror genre in the 1990s called Horror in the 90s. I'm writing about the theatrically released horror movies from January 1990 to December 1999 and tracking the trends, tropes, stars, and franchises that defined this pivotal decade. I cannot finish the book without your help. Donate via my Ko-Fi Account today! Thanks!

movie
2

About the Creator

Sean Patrick

Hello, my name is Sean Patrick He/Him, and I am a film critic and podcast host for the I Hate Critics Movie Review Podcast I am a voting member of the Critics Choice Association, the group behind the annual Critics Choice Awards.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Grz Colm10 months ago

    A good and honest review Sean. “Microwaved nostalgia culture” - a great turn of phrase! 🤣 I think I had more fun with it (at times) than you, but still found it problematic. I enjoyed seeing Ford as leading man as he’s mostly been support the last decade or so. Phoebe also brought lots of humour and energy. Agreed. Yet, that opening was overlong & poor cgi…which was very distracting. The editing of that whole sequence was bizarre. A few of the ‘plot holes’ I was willing to forgive, but I agree with much of your review. I didn’t think it was terrible (I think I enjoyed Skull a little more overall..).

  • Chris Riggio11 months ago

    Is it better than Crystal Skull?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.