Geeks logo

Movie Lovers, I Need You!

who's with me?

By Kaitlyn DawnPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Movie Lovers, I Need You!
Photo by Krists Luhaers on Unsplash

My parents are the complete opposite of each other, and sometimes growing up that was a challenge ... but what I love is, thanks to them, I have a wide range of movie interests.

My mom loves science-fiction and fantasy films, crime and mystery thrillers, and occasionally a drama or historical fiction. We saw Star Trek (2009) and Avatar in theatres together, and movie adaptations of books like Hunger Games and Percy Jackson.

My dad, on the other hand, was always my go-to movie partner for comedies and romances. (Now I live with my boyfriend, so HE'S my parnter for comedies. Dad and I still talk about recently-watched movies on the phone though.) My dad is also the one that widened my range of decades -- I love anything from the 1980s and 1990s! As a 1994 baby, I find a lot of my friends haven't seen a lot of the 80s and 90s classics.

I will watch almost any movie at least once, just to give it a fair chance. For example: my brother-in-law mentioned Reservoir Dogs the other day -- he's a huge Quentin Tarantino fan (I'll be honest, I hadn't seen any of his movies before) -- so a couple days later, I did a quick search on Netflix and Prime Video, found it, and watched it. I wouldn't say I "loved" it -- one scene did bring up a traumatic experience I suppressed for many years -- but I would watch it again.

Oh, I need to thank my dad for one more thing: my absolute love of trivia. I grew up in a household with 20 versions of Trivial Pursuit in our game closet -- my dad collected them for years. While I love all trivia, I especially love movie trivia. Dad and I bond over finding new songs to add to our iTunes playlists because of movie soundtracks, and when we talk about movies we say "I just watched this movie, with this actor and this actress" (using specific names, of course). My dad also tends to watch the versions of movies where they have the directors do a voice over, explaining things from behind the scenes. I also love watching celebrity interviews, so I share a few tidbits with dad from time to time.

This is how much my boyfriend loves me: he's not a fan of movie trivia. But he will still play Movie Trivia (the game) with me, if I ask. He has go-to answers for when he doesn't know the real answer -- Leonardo DiCaprio and M. Night Shyamalan (and occasionally, these answers do work out!) -- and he also, at one point, had answers memorized. He's in-between his two brothers; he's okay at the game. His youngest brother is probably better at Movie Trivia than I am (and I love the challenge of playing with him!), whereas the middle brother claims to only have watched two movies in his entire life.

Alright, so I've titled this article "Movie Lovers, I Need You!", and you're probably still trying to figure out why ... sorry, thought I'd give you my life's story first.

I have a project that I've been working on off-and-on for maybe 5 years now -- revamping it A LOT over the years. You see, I'm trying to develop a movie trivia game that is great for any level of movie lover, any group of friends ... I know I can't please EVERYONE, but my hope is that I can develop something flexible and fun, with a wide variety of variations.

I feel like I'm getting closer, like pieces are starting to form and I'm developing a clearer picture. Before I truly begin though, I was hoping for a little feedback ... so, if you're open to answering 7 questions, please have a look at this Google Form!

Thank you so much!

movie
1

About the Creator

Kaitlyn Dawn

27, Canadian, she/her

Life & Creativity Coach

reader, writer, and lover of words

https://www.kaitlyndawn.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.