Geeks logo

MCU Relationships

PT 2

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1

There are so many relationships in the MCU that we have not discussed yet and a lot of them are more recent additions to the universe so here we go, with some of the better couples in the MCU.

Let’s start with Nakia and T’Challa. Now obviously this one has a very emotional real life end. I’m sure they would have explored this relationship a lot more if we hadn’t lost Chadwick. But with the little on screen time that they had together they were able to do a lot. Now in the last relationship article I said something about most of the MCU relationships not being fleshed out or developed enough. Though these two didn’t have a lot of screentime, I don’t feel like they had that problem. Their romantic tension was very well developed and his loss was very much felt.

Next up I wanna talk about MJ and Peter because their real life chemistry comes through the screen like a freaking freight train. Zendaya plays MJ very dry, to the point where she sometimes seems disconnected and can even be described as cold. However whenever she is on screen with Tom, her MJ lights up. At least as much as her character would, she does a great job of playing such a dry MJ that when she does show emotion it's very subtle but also very noticeable. And the only times that that emotion comes through is when she is interacting with Peter. Quite frankly I called their real life relationship as soon as she was cast as MJ. The internet was upset that MJ was black, I was upset that Zendaya was gonna steal my future husband…jokes on me. I love them together.

My favorite MCU couple is Wanda and Vision, now for people that didn’t know that it was gonna happen I suppose it could appear that it came out of left field, however I think the MCU did a great job of setting this one up. They first meet in Age of Ultron, they both join the Avengers at the end of film, in Civil War they have very clearly bonded. Even when they end up on opposite sides of the fight, when Wanda was getting hurt, Vision got distracted and did what he could to help her. They then run off together, and they’ve spent an insane amount of time in isolation together, they are a beautiful couple and I think the weight of their love for eachother is shown so well in WandaVision specifically. They are easily the best portrayal of a couple in the MCU.

Ant-Man and Wasp was our latest release so let's talk about Janet and Scott. This one is kind of 50/50 for me if we’re being honest, I honestly don’t think Paul Rudd and Evangeline Lily have any chemistry which might be the core of my problem with them. Other than that it just kind of feels like they were forced together with really no build up or lead in. I’m hoping they give it more time and development going forward but at this point it might just be too late.

Last up we’re gonna talk about Gamora and Peter. Now they have slightly more chemistry then the couple we just mentioned. However I think we could do better, that said it might just be Gamora’s character as a whole. The way she doesn’t really understand basic emotion or how to interact with a human that causes the disconnect in chemistry. I like them, I’m just not invested in them.

I believe that's all the relevant couples in the MCU, but feel free to let me know if I have missed any!

tvsuperheroespop culturemovieentertainmentcomics
1

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chidambara Raju Gabout a year ago

    One of the interesting article I have ever read here. Really a nice one, Additionally, I would appreciate it if you could check out my stories, as I am a beginner and would welcome any suggestions about them.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.