Geeks logo

Maygest’s Tale by C.E Cannery

Spoiler-free book review

By Chloe GilholyPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I’ve been reviewing books in the order that I receive them from authors. As a self-published author myself, I know how had it is to get reviews for your books and I enjoy writing book reviews so I have been offering free book reviews to authors on Goodreads. One book, I’ve been really excited to read is Maygest’s Tale by C.E Cannery. A lot of books I’ve received have fallen into the fantasy genre, and I have wanted to read more fantasy books after enjoying Return of The King on Audible.

This book has a couple of reviews on Goodreads, and most of them are all positive. It’s an average rating of 4 stars which I think is fair. I rated the book myself there four stars.

Maygest’s Tale does exactly what it says on the tin. Forgive me for that awful cliche sentence, but what you see in this book is what you get. This book is about Maygest, a thief who’s life takes another turn.

I thought there were some lines that were really funny and brought in. There is some profanity that some readers might not like, but I don’t mind it much. I think it helped bring Maygest’s character out a bit because people swear in real life and this was one of the little bits that made Maygest a fleshed out character.

What I liked about the book is the world building. I thought the author paid a lot of great attention to detail with the settings and the character’s intentions and feelings. There’s also a lot of great humour in it which I think helps even people who aren’t into high fantasy appreciate it.

I think that C.E Cannery is a great writer because her prose is detailed and lyrical. One example of this is near the beginning of the book with the phonetic use “clomp-a-de-clomp-a-Dee” to show the sound of a movement. It’s funny that the horse is called Horsey, even though it’s an obvious name.

I like how unconventional Maygest is because it makes his development as a character even more genuine. He kind of reminded me of Shrek. When we are first introduced to him, he’s a thief, a con-man, everything you’d expect from a main antagonist. I do think showing us his group that includes his friend and family gives him A nice round edge. As a main character he’s terrific.

I also liked Benj as well, I pictured him as being very young and beautiful, being called a first-rate knight.

A few days after reading this book, I took a quiz on the book that was on Goodreads and I got 6 out of ten which wasn’t that bad. One of the questions I got wrong was the form that Chanla took in Inna, which is a book set in the same universe as Maygest’s Quest. I haven’t read that one yet. I got the family of Hyela, Hyeln and Houth mixed up a few times because of how similar the names where, but other than that I thought it was a fun quiz and a nice touch to increase interactivity and memories attached to this book.

So overall, I thought this was a really great adventure story. I know some people find it really heavy and hard to follow a little bit from what I’ve read in some reviews, but I thought it was a really nice book which I would recommend to fantasy fans who like a bit of humour. At the end of the day I think it’s down to personal preference. I think Maygest’s Tale would work well as an audiobook because I would love to hear what characters like Chanla, Hyella, Hyeln and Benj. When I was reading the book, I had Peter Capaldi’s voice in my head when I read his dialogue.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.