Geeks logo

Love, Wedding, Repeat | Netflix Original Movie Review

Another Netflix original to grace our screens and keep us busy during lock-down.

By Joe HarrisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Love, Wedding, Repeat | Netflix Original Movie Review
Photo by Micheile Henderson on Unsplash

Like everyone else in the country, I was scrolling through Netflix in the hopes of finding something new to watch, helping me pass the time during this weird lock-down that we're still in. Thats when I stumbled across this rather strange looking Netflix original, Love, Wedding, Repeat.

The trailer looked like the usual movie I would enjoy watching; usual rom-com tropes, strange yet entertaining plot, while providing an interesting plot that definitely enticed me to watch the movie. Of course, I was also drawn in by Sam Claflin, never hurts to have someone great to look at.

It was only when I needed something easy to watch that I finally managed to get around to watching this movie. With how nice the weather was it seemed like a very fitting movie to enjoy in the sunshine.

While trying to make his sister's wedding day go smoothly, Jack finds himself juggling an angry ex-girlfriend, an uninvited guest with a secret, a misplaced sleep sedative, and the girl that got away in alternate versions of the same day. (synopsis from IMDB)

Initial reaction...

I actually found myself enjoying this at first. The cast was great and the plot moved along fairly smoothly. It was helped that Aisling Bea was included in the cast, she really made the comedy stand out throughout this movie. However, as the movie went I on I found myself just getting confused and lost. I started to not enjoy the Sister character, who's wedding it was meant to be, she seemed selfish and rude. From there I started to lose all interest in the movie - I didn't want them to succeed in their plan to make the wedding go off without a hitch. Then came the twist half way through the film, I won't spoil it, but from there I was just completely lost.

Favourite Moments...

Aisling Bea: As I mentioned earlier, they Aisling in the movie playing Rebecca, a quick witted, hilarious woman who is infatuated with one of the other characters. She spends most of the movie reeling off funny one-liners or throwing a torrent of swear words while she confuses the other characters with hilarious stories.

Jack (Sam Claflin): This was probably one of the only characters that I actually enjoyed watching throughout the movie. Jack ends up running around the movie trying to keep everyone happy and enjoying the wedding as it was planned. He was witty and funny enough to help me carry on watching the movie. I found myself really routing for him as the plot continued.

Italian Scenery: When it came to the overall visuals of the movie, it was a very pretty movie to watch. Then again I feel like any sort of Italian or Spanish setting always looks great on camera. But wherever they filmed this movie was absolutely glorious to watch

Overall...

As is probably apparent from this review, I ended up just not enjoying this movie. I felt kind of deceived by the trailer, it promised a kind of french farse with the potentialy for a happy ending. In a way this movie did provide this, but only in pieces. The typical farse was chopped and moved around trying to be something unique and meaningful, when for me it just kind of flopped.

Of course, there were moments that I enjoyed, there are parts of the movie that are definitely funny. Some of the characters really drive the movie into something that you can watch with ease. But it all gets spoiled by the twist half way through. Unfortunately this won't be a movie that I will choose to watch again.

review
Like

About the Creator

Joe Harris

A lover of writing with a tonne of thoughts and opinions stuck in his head. Lets see what comes out!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.