Geeks logo

'Love, Simon'

And LGBT Representation

By Brianna DiPrimaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

So I’m sure everyone that is connected to social media or goes to the movies knows about this movie. When the trailers started to release people were very excited to see a major network like 20th Century Fox make a movie about a gay kid in high school. And I think some people might have been a little worried at first, that it wouldn’t represent people of the LGBT+ community correctly, or that it would end on something tragic. Because that’s what we’ve all seen for a very long time with most movies or TV shows with an LGBT character. I’m only 20 years old and even when I was in high school, which wasn’t that long ago, there really weren't too many stories about LGBT people that ended well or were properly represented, and not just like the stereotypes of LGBT people.

So when I went to see this movie after it only being out for a day and after people saw early screenings and what critics and media were saying about it, I was a little more than excited. Because everyone was saying that it was an amazing movie and it was something that teens needed right now. And when I finished watching this I was so happy, it exceeded every expectation i had and made me feel so proud that someone finally got it right and made a movie showing someone scared of coming out and what happens when they do. I was so happy that teens and kids and adults have this movie, so that maybe they will feel inspired to be who they are and not afraid of what might happen.

This movie was something that struck a chord in me. Because I myself came out when I was in high school, and at the time not everyone took it as well as I hoped they would. And it hurt and before I said anything I was terrified, but I had hope that everything would be fine. If I saw this movie back then, maybe I would’ve come out sooner or been less afraid of what might happen when I did. And I hope that teens or anyone can take their families to see this movie and tell them that they are like Simon.

Now that this movie has been made I want to believe that maybe other networks will make more stories about the LGBT community but make them right. Not just have someone that’s gay or a lesbian or bisexual, just to have them there, and say that they gave the audience their character, and they don’t need to treat them like any other character. They can have storylines outside of a relationship or their sexuality. Maybe now we can start seeing the representation we deserve. And I’m hopeful that we will, it might not be instant but I think that this movie definitely got the ball rolling. And I hope people learn that the LGBT community is just like everyone else, and not that much different.

And I want to tell everyone that hasn’t come out or that is scared to, or anyone out there that feels like they're alone, there's a whole lot of people who are in your shoes, or who have been in your shoes. There are so many people who know what you’re going through, and if anyone out there ever needs to talk I’ll be there. I might not know you and you might not know me, but having someone who knows, who’s been there — helps so much. Because it helped me, and now I can be who I am and not be ashamed of it.

One last thing, don’t ever force anyone to come out. That’s the last thing people need. If you know someone whose sexuality isn’t straight, don’t make them feel pressured. Because coming out is something that the person needs to do on their own time. No matter how long it takes. And if you don’t feel safe enough to come out then don’t, at least not to the people who make you feel unsafe.

Hopefully people see this article and go see this movie. Or start noticing good representation when it happens. Because seeing someone on TV or in a movie that reminds you of yourself is always a great feeling, so let’s try to make sure that everyone can feel that way.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Brianna DiPrima

I am a huge comic book, movie, music, and tv nerd. Anything entertainment based I enjoy. I want to write about those types of things and maybe try to introduce people to things they haven’t seen yet. Find me on Twitter @DiPrima1997

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.