Geeks logo

La Bele

Spin on the Happily Ever After

By Jasmine LassPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
Like

“Couldn’t you tell I was lying when I said I loved you?” I throw the expensive pearl necklace at my husband. He doesn’t move, doesn’t even flinch when it hits him. One by one, I rip off the expensive jewelry, shoes, and billowy yellow gown. I furiously throw open the doors of my closet and change into my blue and white knee length dress, the one I had arrived at this terrible place in. as I do so Adam watches me with shock and sadness.

“I don’t belong here, I never belonged here! Because of you my father is dead!” tears start falling down my face in a crystal stream. I shove my feet into a pair of brown flats, which are surprisingly comfortable to run in.

“Belle, please—" he starts to come forward and wipe away my tears, just like the way he always did. But it doesn’t have the same effect on me anymore. I shove him away and run, which is much easier to do in my everyday dress rather than the dress that showed my queen stature.

I should never have come here, but I didn’t have a choice. The beast had captured my father, and was threatening to kill him. My poor innocent, ever-trusting father only came to him for help. And Adam threw him in the dungeon where he was cold, hungry, and sick. Even though I was afraid, I took his place at this hollowed out castle, and lied my way to win the beasts heart. He gave me everything I wanted, money, riches, power. And when his curse was broken and he asked me to marry him, I was too blinded by wealth to realize what I was doing. I was idly worshiped by the kingdom as the sweet, beautiful girl who had tamed the wild beast. When all I had to do was give a flirtation here and there. I had the ugly brute wrapped around my finger.

I never loved that beast. He was wicked through and through, no curse could change that. He’d kidnapped and threatened to kill my father for god’s sake! Even though all he ever showed me was tenderness and love, nothing would change the way I saw him.

I run down the large, elegant staircase, and dash through a hallway lit with torches. The castle was darkly beautiful, like a midnight black horse completely untamed. It was my prison, my demon trap. Before the curse, Adam had been the prince, but a light witch saw coldness in his heart and turned him into a hideous beast. As hideous outside as he was inside. He fell out of favor with the people after that, and the kingdom was ruled by the people. My people, who I had been born and raised among, But I was never one of them. I could hear there whispers. Belle, the girl whose name means beauty. And had she not been named well? I set myself on a pedestal above those peasants. I had my head always stuck in a book, of which I heard tales of cunning and intelligence. I probably learned a thing or two from the heroes and heroines in my stories.

When the curse broke, it was like a reversal on everything that had happened. Suddenly the townspeople were singing Adam’s praises. And as his heroic, innocent little queen, they loved me too.

I feel an arm wrap around me and lift me off the floor swiftly but gently. I scream and thrash, but my small, petite frame is no match against his.

“Please Belle! I know you don’t mean that. Let’s just talk about this!” Adam’s voice pleads in my ear. I’m sick of it, hearing his voice, hearing him trying to reason with me, telling me I’m still in the favor of my people. But I feel numb.

A messenger had arrived to the castle this morning, bearing news that my father had been murdered.

“It was the work of Gaston,” The messenger stated frankly as I had collapsed to the floor in agony.

“That’s impossible. Gaston is dead,” Adam said angrily as he tried to console me.

“That’s not what the message written in blood on the wall said,” I let loose another howl at that, and Adam had forced the blunt messenger to leave.

Once upon a time, Gaston had been my lover. He claimed I was the most beautiful in the village, and there was no denying that he was most handsome. It was a perfect match, and we were engaged after not too long. But then I had to trade places with my father, and Gaston went insane, doing everything in his power to retrieve me. He ravaged our village, our home, killing anyone who knew about the beast and might be on his side. He attacked the castle, in which event I thought he had died. But now it turns out he was alive, and furious about my marriage.

“I should never have come here!” I cry, “I should’ve just stayed in my village. In fact, that’s where I’m going to go. I can’t stay here with you any longer.” I grab my cloak and open the large mahogany doors. Outside snow is blowing every which way, but I am not deterred.

“You don’t mean that, Belle. Think of everything we’ve gone through. Think of me, the castle, the kingdom, your people.” He trails off, gazing longingly at me. I have that poor little puppy wrapped around my finger. I do think of what he says. And I also add, might as well think of the royal treasury as well. Why would I want to live in a boring village when I can be queen? My father is dead; all I have left is this castle. If I go to the village, I’ll be stuck as the poor orphan girl, and I would probably be forced to marry some butcher or baker.

My mouth curves into a devilish smile. “Alright, I’ll stay.”

fan fiction
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Lass

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.