Geeks logo

Killing Eve, Villanelle, Observations on The End

No Spoilers But You Know What To Expect From Killing Eve

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
Killing Eve

Prologue: The Villanelle Books vs The Killing Eve TV Series

I have just finished watching the final series of “Killing Eve” based on the “Villanelle” books by Luke Jennings. I have not read the books so I cannot compare the TV series with what happens in the book.

I actually believe that the book gives your mind much freer reign over the universe you are dropping into so I can compare things like “Lord of the Rings” and “His Dark Materials” as I have read the books and watched the films and TV adaptations and was impressed by both, but very nature of TV and film adaptation is that lots are missed from the books in order to shoehorn the story into a few hours.

I have never read a “Harry Potter” book and never will but I have seen the films and enjoyed the latter ones though I found a lot of it very contrived, but the books got kids (and adults) reading and were actually an accompaniment to many peoples growing up through their adolescence to adulthood, and that is nothing but a good thing.

And so to the point of this story.

Killing Eve The End

I do not want to drop any spoilers into this so there will be little direct commentary about the series, apart from the fact that it starts with the usual suspects and the audience not really having a clue what is happening but still getting strapped in for what may be a bumpy ride.

I will admit that the first few episodes seemed a bit shaky, with Villanelle becoming a born again Christian and having several meetups with a very strange God in many awkward situations.

I don’t think I noticed in the previous series but all the locations are flagged with full screen name graphics and there are a lot of UK and European Locations.

However, things seemed to find their groove and I thought “Killing Eve” was actually preparing us for a series five with various events that happen throughout the series, although the end does have a certain open-ended finality.

The series does find a groove and after the somewhat stuttering start becomes very, in my opinion, watchable.

There are flashbacks into the origins of the twelve, and Carolyn’s involvement with Konstantin and why they became so intertwined.

Of course, there is lots of implied sex and a lot more violence and people getting despatched in some incredibly gory scenarios, but it is a series about spies and assassins so what can you really expect, you can’t watch “Killing Eve” and expect noting violent to happen.

There is also some fun, love and tenderness, but as usual, you are not sure who to trust and who is good and who is bad.

If you have watched series one to three it is worth your persevering with series four and hopefully, you will be as satisfied as I was.

Killing Eve: A Conclusion

As I said things happened where I thought it was gearing up for a series five, and actually that could still happen but I hope it doesn’t. It is good for a series to come to a defined end. There are a lot of unanswered questions but this is where your imagination comes in and you weave and draw your own conclusion.

I also have to say I love the simple drop of blood animation on the titles and that just keeps going through the final end titles.

The music throughout “Killing Eve” has been excellent, and I am now going back to other TV series to watch, having thoroughly enjoyed the ride that “Killing Eve” has given me,

I don’t think I have dropped any spoilers in here but apologies if I have, but I am confident in my own abilities.

review
3

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales, Poems, Music & Love

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudey

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Celia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.