Geeks logo

Kids These Days Will Never Know: Part Three

Things Kids These Days Never Knew About That We Experienced Back in the Day

By Mark Wesley PritchardPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
I love the 80s and 90s.

Part three of my list of things I've experienced and had as a child that kids today never knew about will peak your interest. Nostalgia is something we can't take for granted, because it's something that will be around forever. I've chosen five good items on this list and can't wait to share it with you. So if you're ready to sit back and step into memory lane with me, let's get started.

Chef Boyardee

So delicious and hearty.

I love almost all kinds of foods and among them is none other is Chef Boyardee. I would eat a can every day after school and for dinner. My favorites to this day are Spaghetti and Meatballs and Beefaroni. Sometimes, I would have it for lunch. To this day, I still eat Chef Boyardee and make no apologies for it. I usually buy at least five or six cans from my local grocery store.

Game Boy Color

So many great colors.

Released in 1998, the Game Boy Color was the handheld console every kid wanted. It sold 119 million units worldwide and the best selling game was Pokemon Gold and Silver, which sold 14.5 million units. My brother had the atomic purple one and we both played some of the best games on there. Here's the list of games we played:

  • Pokemon Pinball
  • Pokemon Yellow
  • Super Mario Land 2: 6 Golden Coins
  • Pokemon Gold
  • Pokemon Silver
  • Pokemon Crystal

I was 11 years old at the time the Game Boy Color came out. The one struggle that I've experienced was inserting batteries on the back of the console every now and then whenever the battery was low. I'm not saying that the Game Boy Color is better than the Game Boy, which was released on Nintendo's 100th anniversary in 1989. I equally love them both and enjoy them very much. If I were to buy a Game Boy Color console, it would be the Limited Edition Pokemon Yellow Game Boy Color Handheld System.

Yu-Gi-Oh! Cards

It's Time to Duel!

In the late 1990s, Yu-Gi-Oh! was all the rage and soon became popular. I remember receiving two decks of Yu-Gi-Oh trading cards one Christmas. Sadly, I didn't get any the most popular cards, such as the Blue Eyes White Dragon, Exodia, or the Egyptian god cards (Slifer the Sky Dragon, The Winged Dragon of Ra, and Obelisk the Tormentor). Every Saturday morning, I would watch the TV series and get really interested in the duels that Yugi Muto gets involved in. My advice to kids today: learn how to play Duel Monsters and also participate in local Yu-Gi-Oh! tournaments in your area.

Hot Wheels

Hot Wheels Gift Packs.

If you were to ask me which I like better, Matchbox or Hot Wheels, I would say Hot Wheels. I had lots of Hot Wheels vehicles as a kid and they were given to me as gifts. However, I didn't have the track builder sets or loop accessories. If I were to own either one, I would play with it every day. Whenever I get bored, I just grab a few cars and start playing with them. Recently, I was on Pinterest and constantly pinning different Hot Wheels cars of particular decades (373 pins to be exact). The various designs caught my eye and I was impressed. If only I had a display case to show off my Hot Wheels cars to everyone.

Tiger Electronic Handheld Games

Mighty Morphin Power Rangers Handheld Game.

Before the arrival of the Game Boy, there were Tiger Handhelds. Tiger Electronics was able to secure licenses from many of the day's top-selling companies to sell their own versions of games in the 80s and 90s, such as Street Fighter II,Batman,Double Dragon,Aladdin, and Duck Tales. Growing up in the 90s, I remember playing Sonic the Hedgehog. It was the only handheld game I owned and those were the good old days. Today, you can find Tiger Handheld games on sites like eBay and Amazon and prices do vary.

I hope you enjoyed part three of my list. You have seen 15 of my favorite items that I enjoyed as a kid. I'm looking forward to sharing part four of my favorite things I've experienced and had as a child that kids today never knew about. Be sure to follow me on social media and if you like the stories I've written so far, feel free to support me by sending a small one-off gift.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Mark Wesley Pritchard

Award-winning cosplayer, cosplay model, influencer, retro gaming fanatic, die-hard Texas Rangers fan, and nostalgic freak. Need I say more?

Threads: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Instagram: @thecosplayerfromtexas

TikTok: @thecosplayerfromtexas

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.