Geeks logo

Justice League: My Dream Casting

It's high time that I jump on the bandwagon and give you my dream casting of a perfect Justice League lineup.

By Matthew BaileyPublished 6 years ago 6 min read
Like

Since I’m seeing a few other writers coming up with what they think should be the Justice League line up, I figured that I would jump on the bandwagon and give you my idea of a fantastic lineup.

Let’s start from the top.

Superman: Henry Cavill

He's got the Supe's look down...

He’s already done a great job of wearing Supe’s Cape so far and I don’t see why he won’t continue to impress in the next offering. I think if this upcoming Superman/Batman movie goes in the direction that the rumors are saying, then I think Man of Steel was exactly what it needed to be. Man of Steel was Superman Version 1.0. He’s just starting to learn what it means to be a hero, and what it takes. He will continue to grow into the virtues that we know Superman to hold true. This next film will probably show him in his transitional phase from newbie hero to becoming the true Man of Steel (firm in virtue and full of heart for the people of earth). This will come via the tutelage of the Bats.

Batman: Ben Affleck

I know, I know – you’re all going to probably hate me for saying this, but I think Ben Affleck is going to be great as the Batman. Granted, he is a farcry from the Christian Bale version of Batman, but if you look at the bigger picture of The Justice League, then you’ll start to understand why Ben Affleck is a good fit. In Justice League, Batman is seen as one of the main leaders. He has wisdom as he has been fighting crime for years. He’s a weathered superhero. He isn’t fresh into his “powers” or still learning what justice is. He has a handle on it, and he is there to guide the new heroes and give them support and knowledge on what it means to be the Hero. This character trait, I believe, will be necessary to bring Justice League into existence on the Big Screen. Batman will enter into Superman’s world and become a mentoring character, teaching him how to truly seek justice and protect the people of earth.

Wonder Woman: Gal Godot

I think physically she fits the build well, and based on her experience in the Fast & Furious films, I think that she has the chops to play Wonder Woman. Im not sure how she will fit into the first film, but that’s because there really isn’t anything concrete out there, only that she will have a role, whether that is truly as Wonder Woman or as Diane Prince.

Green Lantern (John Stewart): Common or Dennis Haysbert

I think that Ryan Reynold’s character is dead. It really wouldn’t be a good decision to try and revive Hal Jordan. They should move forward with John Stewart as the new Green Lantern. For two reasons: 1. I think John Stewart is more bad-ass than Hal Jordan. 2. It will add some ‘diversity’ to the team, which is not present in the Marvel World currently. I think going forward with the African-American John Stewart brings some validity to the Justice League. It seems to build into a reality that anyone can be a superhero, it’s whats inside that makes you a hero. So with that being said, I am torn between two actors for this role, and it really depends on how ‘weathered’ this John Stewart should be. If we want John Stewart to be a new hero, then I lean towards Common. He’s young and he has a “from the streets” vibe. He could bring some depth to the character, although I don’t think he’s a strong enough actor to have a stand-alone film. Whereas if John Stewart is going to be a more experienced Lantern, than I think Dennis Haysbert would be incredible as Green Lantern. He’s got the build, and he has the experience of being a ‘leading character’ through his time on The Unit (one of my favorite shows). He has experience playing a character who can charge ahead as well as offer support and wisdom. He also has that voice that would be recognized and has the John Stewart ‘growl.

Martian Manhunter: Vinnie Jones

The Martian Manhunter was a tough casting call for me. Vinnie Jones fits the physical build, and I believe that he could play the character very well. It would really come down to whether or not they want to bring him into Justice League yet or try and build it up as ‘young characters’ all in need of training and mentoring to become true super heroes. I think Vinnie has the chops though. Like I said, he’s physically built to be able to play the tough guy, but I also think that he can do well with the sorrow that the Manhunter has to deal with being here on Earth. I love the accent that he would be able to bring as well, as the Manhunter that I remember from the cartoons always had a distinct accent.

Flash: Michael Wetherly

The Flash has always seemed like the cocky, showoff character. He’s always got a quick quip, or something clever to say. Michael Wetherly is good at that type of acting. He’s very quick on his feet, but he’s also physically built to be able to carry the demeanor of The Flash.

Aquaman: Jensen Ackles

Aquaman. The joke of the superhero world. He’s always tossed aside as having no real superpowers because he’s basically confined to water and sea creatures, but really he has strengths even out of the water. He is physically inclined, and he won’t back down from a fight. I think Jensen would be a great casting call. He’s got the “nobody tells me what I can/can’t do” attitude, and I think that’s something that you need in an Aquaman lead.

Honorable Mentions (Potential follow-up movie character additions or small cameo appearances)

Green Arrow: Stephen Amell

Stephen Amell has done an incredible job of building the Oliver Queen Character on the show Arrow. I think that it would be silly to not atleast try to bring his character across specifically. He isn’t a main standing character in Justice League, but he could have an introduction at least, much like Hawkeye had his cameo in Edward Norton’s version of The Hulk, and even in the first Avengers he didn’t take a huge role at the beginning, but his character slowly evolved and everyone grew to love him. That’s how I see Justice League bringing in the Green Arrow/Oliver Queen.

Cyborg: John Boyega or Tristan Wilds

Cyborg is an interesting character for me, I think he would be a great ‘bridge’ character. I think there was an interview somewhere, and Henry Cavill said this in it:

“Cyborg I think would make a wonderful character and an incredible bridge between both superhumans and humanity in a different way to Batman.”

I agree with Cavill, Cyborg could be a great minor character addition to this upcoming Superman/Batman, especially if their goal is to introduce the Justice League beginning, as with the New 52 comics since Cyborg is a founding member. If we do see Cyborg in this movie, I’d love to see either John Boyega (Attack the Block) or Tristan Wilds (Red Tails) playing the role. I think they’re both young enough to be believable but also have the ability to play a strong character like would need to be for Cyborg. I guess we will see how it all plays out, since I just read that there has been a new casting call that makes a lot of people think it’s a casting for Cyborg.

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Bailey

Husband. Father. Gamer. Cinema Lover. Mix it all together, and there I am. I love all things pop-culture and coffee; but coffee is the best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.