Geeks logo

JUST PICK A FU*KING SHOW

Never-ending media scrollers unite

By Tyler JohnsonPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

In a world with 20 different streaming services available at our fingertips, I find myself wondering how many of us are so impossibly indecisive about what we want to watch. Scrolling between Hulu, Netflix, Prime video, HBO Go and even Crackle. I will look at and read previews for 30 to 40 different movies and shows that Im 90% sure I will never ever in my life watch, let alone see through til the end.

After going through thousands of options, I tend to end up back at the same show. It seems like I can always come up with some sort of reason or explanation for passing on each item I come across. “Thats one looks too predictable” or “I feel like that’s gonna be slow” or “That one only has 2 stars” knowing very well that there are dozens of movies with poor reviews that are in my top 10. Also, why would I feel like I have any fucking clue how good the show or movie is gonna be by reading less than a paragraph about the basis most broad description of the story plot.

By myself, this is a serious problem that exposes my indecisiveness; and if im trying to decide with another person, or even a group of friends, fucking forget about it. You always have that one friend that snags the remote and wants to watch trailers for movies that you have already judged so hard simply by the cover and know that its going to be the greatest disappointment of the night. Indie horror movies that have the worst cliche villain that is going to have the entire room reaching for the remote 30 minutes in, wasting valuable time were you could just be home alone, in bed watching Its always sunny or workaholics for the 40th god damn time.

I understand that everyone has a different taste in media, but when you see a trailer for a movie that looks absolutely horrid and someone in the group says “that looks good”, leaving you wondering how the hell someone could have seen the same dog shit trailer you just watched and think “oh that looks like a good one.” I also get that this could be the precise thought that could be the reason for leaving a lot of good stuff unwatched and on the table, but I just can’t muster up the courage to dive into something that is going to have my phone slowly rising up until it is directly in front of my face for the next 90 or so minutes.

It seems like if we were only given a small option of choices we would be more open to discovering new things and enjoying them without already having your mind made up that it sucks because it wasn’t the choice you would have made. In a world driven by “More is better” we sure have a fucking problem deciding on what content is worth our precious little time.

satire
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.