Geeks logo

Josh Brolin Comments On His Future In 'Deadpool'

Words On The Future

By Culture SlatePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Appearing in the second Deadpool movie, Josh Brolin killed it as Cable/Nathan Summers. His addition was a sure-fire win for the franchise. His return to the franchise, however, is still uncertain.

Brolin is okay with this. During an interview with ACE Universe Presents on YouTube, he stated:

"You know, Deadpool worked out very much in my favor. Deadpool was supposed to be four movies. Maybe there'll be more; I don't know what Marvel has in store. But it turned out to be one really fun movie for me, and I'm good with that."

RELATED: Fantastic Four Casting Process Teased By Kevin Feige

Brolin also discussed his process, how he gets ready for any role. He said, "You always bring personal experience, you know." Consider that he depicted not just the mutant warrior Cable but also the megalomaniacal Titan, Thanos, fans are a bit curious as to what that personal experience may be. He says:

"I find...I know early on, I was in a corner, and if it was a heavy scene, I'd be getting dark in the corner. And then I found that that actually worked against me...And then I found that, especially in drama, that the lighter I am on set, the better it is. Because then I feel like I'm actually going somewhere. And it's a new, and it's an organic and new reaction when I do the scene."

Brolin always states he loves portraying both characters. However, when pressed, he admits that he liked the creative control the Marvel team gave him during his run as Thanos. The character was the "Ultimate Big Bad" of the initial phases of the MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe).

Landing and portraying Cable felt more objective and detached to him. Brolin called it a "business transaction." The Deadpool team wanted more from him on almost every level. "Even though it was funny, it was harder...it was more, 'We need to make this like this,' which I didn't feel that way with Avengers."

On the other hand, Josh Brolin portrayed Thanos in four movies: Guardians of the Galaxy (2014), Avengers: Age of Ultron (2015), Avengers: Infinity War (2018), and Avengers: Endgame (2019). He likens his portrayal to that of Marlon Brando in Apocalypse Now.

"I mentioned Brando in Apocalypse Now, this guy who is very elusive and insane, but what he is saying makes sense and is poetical. I started seeing the parallel, which I liked for me. I loved being able to resort to a film like Apocalypse Now when I was doing something like Avengers."

Fans were simultaneously elated and stressed when Disney added 20th Century Fox to its portfolio. On the one hand, the merger reunited our beloved Marvel characters, and it felt so good. But, on the other, the Deadpool franchise did not exactly fit the Disney brand image. Would the House of Mouse be the thing that kills Deadpool?

We worried for nothing. Confirmation of a third movie in the Deadpool franchise came from none other than Ryan Reynolds himself. Earlier this month, he stated, "We're really actively developing it and getting it into pretty good shape. What the hell month is it? August? Oh, next year? Probably pretty damn good. I'd say 70%."

Thus far, we only know that the movie will continue to star Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool. Wendy Molyneux and Lizzie Molyneux-Logelin are set to write the film. However, there is no release date yet.

Brolin is not yet done with the worlds of comic books and science-fiction. He will appear in the much-anticipated film adaptation reboot of the Dune saga helmed by Denis Villeneuve. Brolin will play Gurney Halleck for that franchise. As his fans, we hope he continues to find new and fascinating roles in our favorite fandoms.

READ NEXT: Kevin Feige Gives Update On 'Loki' Season 2

Written By Leana Ahmed

Source(s): CBR

Syndicated From Culture Slate

Join The Team

superheroes
Like

About the Creator

Culture Slate

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.