Geeks logo

Jinny Hex Special #1

DC Comics

By Steven LeitmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Jinny Hex Special #1

DC Universe 2020

Written by Magdalene Visaggio

Illustrated by Gleb Melnikov

Coloured by Luis Guerrero

Lettered by Gabriela Downie

NEW-VILLAIN ALERT: THREE-EYED JACK!

Jinny Hex stars- in her first solo adventure-and she’s ready and raring to go! Bursting out of the pages of Young Justice, this fan-favorite gal is heading back home to take care of some unfinished business! Hoping to take some time off from Multiverse conflict, Jinny reconnects with some old friends and family. But that all goes out the window when a new foe called Three-Eyed Jack transports her town back to the Old West. Now it’s up to Jinny to face off with this super-powered gunslinger and save her town! But Jinny’s about to learn that some threats are closer to her heart than expected.

I really wanted to like this a lot more than I did. Unfortunately this isn’t new reader friendly and having not read Young Justice with her tenure I found myself lost. I am still waiting to learn how she’s related to Jonah Hex and there is a decided lack of the Wild West feeling within these pages despite its setting. I am also a little taken aback that a young woman who was a member of Young Justice would so easily let herself be led into believing what Jack Duckett, if that be his name, fed her. There just seems to be a lot of things here that are either missing or just don’t add up and I found myself disappointed in this.

I have a lot of questions about the way that this is being told. Sure the story & plot development that we see through how the sequence of events unfold and how the reader learns information is laid solidly down. That, however, is the best part of seeing how this is structured. Once Three Eyed Jack comes into being I am a huge fan of his reimagining of the area. He is one of those villains that while not really western per se but more along the lines of Psimon though I will not complain about that because the idea is solid and how we see it play out is extremely nice to see.

The character development really doesn’t tell me much about them except they are some clueless 20 somethings trying to find their way. The pacing is pretty good though and it takes us through the pages nicely as it reveals the story to us.

Oh the interiors aren’t bad but they are too all-ages for me, and too reminiscent of Humberto Ramos to boot. I don’t feel like we see Gleb’s style or personality emerge through the work here which is something of a shame. The talent is here he’s got nice control of his linework and through the varying weights we get some beautiful detail work. When we meet Jack I was hoping that visage would carry us through each individual character, he looks amazing and much less all-ages in that moment. I will always want to see more backgrounds but what we do see is extremely well done and they enhance the moments and bring some good solid depth perception, a sense of scale and the overall sense of size and scope to the story. The utilisation of the page layouts and how we see the angles and perspective in the panels show a really great eye for storytelling. The colour work is beautifully rendered as well. How we see the various hues and tones within the colours utilised to create the shading, highlights and shadow work is perfectly rendered. One big complaint--Ladybird looks like a young Native American (Cher) and less like a nice Jewish Girl so that is somewhat off putting to me.

Now I know Magdalene is a very talented writer and this is less than I expect from her. I think this should have been a mini-series instead of a one-shot and this way they’d have a much better opportunity to fit all the information needed. I do love the fact that this firmly cements Jinny in the DCU and hopefully we’ll get some stories that showcase her lineage as well as that Hex strength of character that we’ve come to know and appreciate.

comics
1

About the Creator

Steven Leitman

Just me talking about the comics I enjoy reading, ones that you might not know exist and spotlighting the indie creators that excite me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.