Geeks logo

James Gunn's DCU

Announcements

By Alexandrea CallaghanPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

After what felt like forever DC fans finally got some information on where the DCU is headed under the guidance of James Gunn. And it is everything I could have hoped for, as soon as Gunn was hired I all of a sudden had hope for DC. We finally have someone in charge who not only reads comics but respects them, he is using the amazing source material at his disposal to bring fans some incredible projects. All that said I would like to throw it out there that all of this means nothing if he allows Ezra Miller to continue in this universe. A good writer and director aside, I think asking our artists to be mediocre human beings is not too much to ask. Simply don’t be awful…not difficult. But here we go with all the projects James Gunn announced for the DCU.

Starting with the project that caused great distress in the fanbase; Superman Legacy, not an origin story but focusing on a younger Clark Kent, James Gunn himself is writing for the most iconic character in comics. I personally can’t wait because with so many Superman adaptations out there Gunn seems to have found a fresh take on the character.

Next we have Batman: The Brave and the Bold, here I let out a relieved sigh and say thank the lord. Because words can not describe how tired of Batman I am. Every adaptation besides Adam West is the same and none of it is interesting. Diving right in with the Bat-family is a great idea. I have always said that those that surround Batman are more interesting then the caped crusader himself so I am glad that James is reaching for some good comic book runs to give us more than the same old brooding story.

Lanterns is one of the projects I am most excited for considering my love for the entirety of the lantern corps…all of them, every color. So I am super happy that we are getting a show focused on the best of the Green Lantern corps. Hopefully the ambiguous title of “Lanterns” will leave the door open for us to see some other colors enter the picture.

When James announced Woman of Tomorrow I literally screamed. Not only is Supergirl super deserving of her own film but the Woman of Tomorrow comic book run was brilliant and pulling from something so recent is going to add so much to the continuity of the DCU.

Now most of my relief for these announcements comes from the fact that James Gunn clearly did research, he not only reads comics but respects them, such is shown to us through his announcement of The Authority, Swamp Thing and Creature Commandos. Not to sound gatekeepy or anything but real comic book fans and real DC fans are hyped for the addition of these characters. I love having a break from the super mainstream and getting something more than just the big 3. DC is rich with dynamic and interesting characters outside of the Justice League and I am so appreciative to James Gunn for exploring that.

I love that he has made the decision to keep Viola Davis for Waller, that was always a perfect casting choice and it shows that the decision of what needs to be rebooted and what can stay was very well thought out and calculated.

Booster Gold is maybe the one I’m most excited for simply because I am intrigued. Like I said I love that we are moving away from centering the big 3 but it's very clear that fanboy James has maybe entered the chat a little bit and so far I am fine with it.

And last but not least Paradise Lost. All I have to say is that women better be writing and directing and I expect some super gay relationships James. I promise you an island of all straight women is more unrealistic than Swamp Thing.

I am hyped for all of what was announced, and keep in mind he did tell us that this was not everything so I am eager to see what else James Gunn has in store for us. But at this point I am hopeful and optimistic.

superheroestvpop culturemovieentertainmentcomics
Like

About the Creator

Alexandrea Callaghan

Certified nerd, super geek and very proud fangirl.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.