Geeks logo

If This, Then That

The Fifth Element vs Clarice

By Key GrantPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

If This, Then That

What does it take to make a great story? For me, I enjoy a wholesome theme. an “it takes a village” sense of comradery among the characters mixed with an inside view of the “the struggle within.” A story that demonstrates no matter what we face in life, many times the battle within ourselves is more difficult to overcome, all the while, steadfastly focused on the mission at hand.

In one of my favorite films of all time, The Princess Bride (1987), a Grandfather sits with his ill grandson and explains to him that The Princess Bride is a tale worthy of retelling because it includes: fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, true love, and miracles! This is quite a list of "must haves" in order to make a tale worthy of retelling, but I find myself in total agreement. Without giving anything away, no spoiler alert here, in case you have not seen this movie, the story is an instant classic, that takes you on a journey, as well as a voyage, to save the princess.

Ten years later, another film is released, another story worthy of retelling, containing all the items on Grandfather's list of must haves: The Fifth Element (1997). Again, not wanting to give anything away to those who have not seen it, another instant classic, an all-star cast take you on a mission, as well as a vacation, to save the world.

Colorful and action packed, these films offer an emotional rollercoaster of drama, suspense and comedy that keep me on the edge of my seat for the entire ride. Every moment, every frame, filled to the brim with something that touches my sense of wonder, stirs my imagination, or makes my heart skip a beat, with just the right amount of humor thrown in for good measure.

Yet, despite my love for these colorful action-adventure stories, despite my love for the fanciful characters, sometimes I do not have time to sit and watch an entire film, sometimes I am looking for something a little more down to Earth, maybe a ride that is not so wild. Enter Clarice!

Clarice is a brand-new show, a series that started in February of this year. This first season is composed of ten episodes and I have had the pleasure of watching the first four so far and let me tell you, I am sure this story would meet with Grandfather’s approval. Clarice is a creative continuation of the Hannibal Lecter story and takes place one year after The Silence of the Lambs.

A strong female character, always fighting the good fight, Clarice Starling returns to the field as an agent for the FBI and yes, there is fencing, fighting, torture, revenge, giants, monsters, chases, escapes, and while it always seems to be a miracle that Clarice Starling is still alive, I know I am hoping that along with all the monsters she will also, one day, find true love.

So far there does not seem to be even a hint of a love interest but as the character and the show mature, I am sure there will be at least one, ill-timed kiss somewhere along the way. Until then, the suspense and drama will keep me coming back for more every week. I have six episodes left to see.

Self-contained, Clarice can be enjoyed without being familiar with the Hannibal Lecter story, but you will miss out on some of the inside jokes if you do not watch Silence of the Lambs first. A commentary on the struggle within for those dealing with post traumatic stress disorder, those dealing with the glass ceiling, those strong females pioneering through male dominated fields, Clarice is on track to becoming another classic tale, proving once again that the greatest evil man or woman will ever face is the evil of their fellow man. If you enjoy action films like The Princess Bride and The Fifth Element as much as I do, then be sure to check out Clarice.

review
Like

About the Creator

Key Grant

If you enjoy Key Grant's starter stories here on Vocal be sure to check out the rest of the collection on Amazon Kindle and Audible.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.