Geeks logo

If Loving You Is Wrong, I'll Watch You Anyway

The Four Female Main Characters that Made 'The Bold Type' my Latest Guilty Pleasure Binge

By Julie "US Writer" Anne Published 3 years ago 6 min read
1
If Loving "The Bold Type" is Wrong, I Don't Want to Be Right!

I'm no online streaming virgin. 'The Bold Type' is just my latest conquest.

There’s been many others before ‘The Bold Type’ that have fueled my creative process and made me find a reason to continue my writing career. I will tell you more about that as you and I get to know one another. For now, I feel the need to justify my latest TV streaming fixation on “The Bold Type.” This guilty pleasure binge might not be for reasons you would expect.

Why did ‘The Bold Type’ become my latest guilty pleasure binge?

When I watch this show, I feel like I’m cheating on Carrie Bradshaw from ‘Sex and the City.’ I just can’t help myself though. It reminds me of what SATC used to do for me in 2005 when I first started freelance writing. ‘The Bold Type’ reminds me to make sure I get a breast cancer screening, and it challenges the way people feel about guns. In addition, it spreads awareness of relationship struggles within the LGBTQ community and touches a bit on racism issues.

Bringing up controversial subjects that often are taboo in everyday conversation is not the primary reason why I watch the show, however. It’s four of the main female characters of it that keep me clinging to the screen to find out what happens next.

What Most Intrigues Me About ‘The Bold Type’ Female Main Characters

Note to people who identify of other genders: I identify as female so choose to focus on those who as far as I know identify as the same in this show. Watch out for more articles on the transgendered or male characters coming soon.

The naiveté of the three main female millennial characters Writer Jane Sloan, aspiring stylist and Fashion Assistant Sutton Brady, and Social Media Director Kat Edison make me feel like my life isn’t over yet. I have some of the same training, aspirations and experiences as these three women nearly half my age do. At the same time, the Scarlet magazine Editor-in-Chief Jacqueline Carlyle plays a professional role I like the one I hope to land in another 5-10 years.

Here's more in-depth information about the main female characters that make 'The Bold Type' a show I want to see to the end:

Jane Sloan – At first, she seems like the plainest of all the three main millennial characters in the show. However, Jane reminds me of the ego boost I felt when I had more than one dating option at different times in my life. More importantly, I commend her for using her real name instead of remaining anonymous when she submits her final draft of “O Hell No! Never Had An Orgasm? Me Neither. What It’s Like When the Big O is The Big No.”

I’ve never had much of a problem having an orgasm. The point is Jane’s dilemma before going public with her real name is similar to one I have all the time. How much personal information should a writer share? That’s something I battle with every day, but Jane’s courage inspires me to unveil more of my own truths.

Sutton Brady – I don’t identify as much with Sutton as I do Jane or Kat on the creative spectrum, but I do admire high fashion and appreciate hints of how to dress well even on a budget. In addition, I have some passion for the visual and graphic arts scenes that I plan to incorporate more into my writing starting in 2021.

On a personal level, I’ve also had dated someone whose work title was superior to mine just like Sutton has. Like me, she wants to earn her way to the top not just by getting on top of a board member. At the same time, seeing her with Richard made me realize that it's possible my former supervisor maybe did have feelings for me after all.

Kat Edison – Reputation means everything when managing social media, and I know that all too well having managed social media accounts starting in 2014. At the same time, Kat teaches me that it’s acceptable to be transparent within reason. I like how her character could reach target audiences on a personal level without her feeling excessively ostracized. She represents one type of writing and creativity I aspire to pursue as I communicate with my target audience.

Jacqueline Carlyle – Unlike Ugly Betty’s self-obsessed, vicious Wilhelmina Vivian Slater who seems to want vengeance at every turn, the progressive Jacqueline Carlisle comes across as the mother I wish I had. It’s not because my mom doesn’t have the same potential for success as Jacqueline, but Jacqueline has the kind of confidence I wish my mom had.

Jacqueline also seems to always extend a heart full of warmth and affection when encouraging Jane and others who cross her path. It's refreshing to have a female character her age in a show that doesn't feel the need to be the "queen bee" type. She seems to succeed on her own merit without triangulating other people on the show against one another.

Just when you thought I'd finally "shut up," I still have more to say about 'The Bold Type"...

After Sutton said yes to Richard's proposal, she meets his mon, Claire Hunter. Claire slips subtle remarks about the “silliness” behind Sutton’s desire to use Instagram to establish a styling brand when meeting to discuss wedding venues. She also says Sutton's first choice of wedding venue is her "least favorite." Mrs. Hunter also discourages Sutton's decision to serve "Hogsmith" beer instead of champagne or wine and offers to pay for the alcohol.

Awhile after the first meeting between Sutton and Mrs. Hunter, they finally come to a truce. Mrs. Claire Hunter admits she is jealous of Sutton who has the chance to pursue a career unlike Claire who had to give up her career to raise Richard.

Claire provides me insight on my own mother and other women who seemed to want to find fault with me. I have plenty wrong with me, but sometimes, I just want to enjoy a few moments of peace like when I watch 'The Bold Type."

'The Bold Type' is no 'Sex and the City', but it Will do for Now

I've tried many others since following 'Sex and the City' when I started my writing career in 2005. I also saw all the episodes of 'The L Word,' 'Lipstick Jungle,' 'Ugly Betty,' and 'The Mistress,' for instance. Nothing might ever measure up to SATC, but 'The Bold Type' comes a close second based on how it fuels my writing passion.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Julie "US Writer" Anne

Find Julie on FB or Twitter @juilieuswriter or by searching "Julie US Writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.