Geeks logo

I Turned One of My Favorite Marvel Heroes into a DND Character!

And I Plan on Making More!

By M.N. NegusPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
4

From the moment my father taught me about the Marvel universe, I knew it would become an obsession until my last day. From stunning characters like , to the X-Men, and even the Avengers, I fell in love with super heroes and their stories. I fell deeper down the rabbit hole when I was first introduced to Dungeons and Dragons.

For three years, I've been playing a variety of fantastical characters and bringing them to life in campaigns that took my breath away. I wouldn't claim to be an expert (I haven't even a game yet!), but I love the way you can create and role-play stories. And after my most recent campaign, I had a potentially dangerous idea.

Now, I'm sure this has been before, but I wanted to put my own spin on it. I want to give my friends an experience over something that I'm passionate about.

I want to create a Marvel themed DND campaign.

Not set in the real world, no, I want to create a campaign inspired by the people, places, and in the Marvel universe. I want to create an entire world for this. I want to create characters based on our beloved heroes and villains. It would be filled with action, adventure, and a little romance, too.

I'm still working on the logistics and specifics of this campaign, but as a way of jump-starting it, I wanted to start small. So, I created a potential character for this campaign based off of my favorite X-Men character: Jubilee

My favorite X-Man, Jubilee

Jubilation Lee, or Jubilee, is an X-Man with the ability to create pyrotechnic . Basically, they are like fireworks. She has a long history with this superhero group, and I won't get into too much detail about it, but here are the important :

She is a mutant, a person born with a unique ability. Her parents were murdered, and she was forced to flee to a shopping mall, where she lived her days as a runaway until the X-Men found her.

When I started making her DND character, I decided to make her a human variant, which gave her some unique bonuses and feats (not to mention, mutants are like human variants). This race also allowed me to pick two ability scores to increase, a skill , and a feat to choose from.

When it came time to pick her class, I knew she needed to be a spell caster. But, not just any spell caster. She needed to be a sorcerer, a magic user with the natural ability to use magic. I set her to level five, which allowed me to pick a bloodline and spells. I gave her the Pyromancy bloodline and spells that correlated with her mutation.

This was tricky because a lot of the sorcerer spells aren't terribly flashy like fireworks are. Upon some digging, I gave her these spells:

: Control Flames, Dancing Lights, , Mage Hand, and Shocking Grasp

1st Level Spells: Color Spray and Magic Missile

2nd Level Spells: Pyrotechnics and Scorching Ray

3rd Level Spells: Fireball and Lightning Bolt

After that, I rolled for her stats and set them . Before I show her sheet, I'll tell you about the background I gave her. The standard ones didn't fit well for who Jubilee was and what her personality was like. This me to create a custom background that I call Runaway.

With the Runaway background, I was able to pick features. I gave her a skill in survival and acrobatics as well as alchemist tools as her tool . Her alignment is chaotic good.

Current stats for Jubilee

I'm satisfied with the way she turned out. , I'm excited to make more characters from the Marvel universe into DND characters. I think I could turn this into a fun little series!

comics
4

About the Creator

M.N. Negus

M.N is a mother, cosplayer, nerd, and writer. She loves Marvel Comics and creating fiction. She hopes to inspire others with her stories and success.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.