Geeks logo

I Try To Watch Every Single Netflix Original #1

We all know that Netflix has some really good as well as tons of really bad originals. I've decided to try and watch as many as possible.

By Ashley StysPublished 4 years ago 7 min read
5
I Try To Watch Every Single Netflix Original #1
Photo by Thibault Penin on Unsplash

Note: I write all of my notes while I am watching the show/movie itself or right afterwards. Lengths of my notes do vary based off of how much I felt was worthy to write about. Here are all of my honest and smart ass opinions on what I’ve seen so far, some might contain spoilers. Also, I know that my sentences are choppy from time to time and I apologize, I will get better at writing.

100 Humans: As someone who loves fun and lighthearted shows from time to time, I highly enjoyed it! Human #28 is my all time favorite and deserves nothing but absolute greatness in this world. I literally cried while watching one of the episodes. I’ve done so many puzzles while watching this show that I lost count. ALSO THAT ONE GIRL IS ALWAYS FEATURED ON BUZZFEED! SHE'S THE ONE WITH THE HIGH PITCHED VOICE #iykyk what do I have to do to be part of season 2??? 7/10

Queer Eye: Dear god I love this show. I’ve been watching since it came out and it still is one of my favs. Really good to watch, especially right now because I’m crying all the fucking time so why not add a show that will make me cry to the list? Also, Bruley is the cutest and will forever have my heart. 10/10

The Platform: A lot of scenes go INSANE with the gore so if you can’t handle a lot of blood and guts, I wouldn’t suggest it. As a film major, I loved the lighting and the cinematography, other than that, not a fan of the movie. There’s a randomly placed long J cut that really threw me off, I thought my laptop was frozen for a minute. It was pretty slow for the first 30ish minutes and then BOI DOES THIS MOVIE MAKE A FULL 180. The whole concept is really weird but pretty original, I’ve literally never seen anything like it. I was just grossed out from the food and chewing noises the whole time. If anyone says “obvious” or “obviously” to me in the next year I will actually scream. Also... WHO THE FUCK GAVE THIS MAN CLEARANCE TO BRING A FUCKING KNIFE INTO PRISON WITH HIM????? Holy mother of god does the gore ever end in this movie? There’s so much, it literally never ends. Usually I can handle it but this is even a little too much gore for me. My next tattoo is going to be the line, “the panna cotta is the message” on my forearm. God this movie is so confusing. I dead ass had to google what the ending meant and I still don’t get it. If you can’t tell, I don’t like this movie. 4.5/10

John Mulaney: The Comeback Kid: I’ve seen this comedy special so many times and I love every time I watch it. He's definitely one of my favorite comedians. I love him, 9/10

Sugar Rush: Listen, I LOVE baking shows, a lot. This might be one of my favorite baking shows! I love how you can bank leftover time from rounds 1 and 2 that can be used towards the final cake round. Hunter March is a really good host and the judge panel is awesome! This is the baking show that I always recommend when people ask. I still REALLY want to try that space cake from season 1. 8.5/10

Kiss Me First: I went into the first episode literally knowing nothing about the show. I couldn’t even tell if it was animated or live action (turns out it’s both). This show had sooooo much potential but fell flat. The first episode is super confusing and I couldn’t even watch episode 2, I might do it at some point. The characters were introduced in really weird confusing ways, I couldn’t tell if the main character was 16 or in her 20’s for a while. You literally have no idea, there isn’t much context but I’m guessing that she’s in her 20’s based on the information that I gathered. Also the main character's mother is dead and they don’t tell you anything about what happened and you literally know nothing about the main character’s family. The roommate is just straight up weird and I cringed during the whole roommate interviewing process. Also a random girl that the main character meets in a video game finds out where she works and lives and no one questions it???? 2/10

Tiger King: You KNOW I had to talk about Tiger King. I loved it, sooooooo much. The hype is REAL! Each episode in this docuseries was amazing, they were all settled on different topics but all came together for the final episode and it was just *chefs kiss*. Joe Exotic is a whole mood and is very much his own person. I loved every minute of this show. The people being interviewed were all amazing and they all have super interesting stories. I literally had no idea that this whole community of people existed and that they would be THIS interesting. Carol Baskins killed her husband and you can’t change my mind. 9/10

Love is Blind: As someone who LOVES trashy dating shows, this was right up my alley! This is a super cool and interesting experiment but also super weird. I wish we got to see more of the other people who didn’t make it out of the pods with a fiancée because I think that would have been super interesting. This show is over the top, dramatic for no reason, and I’m totally here for it! Each couple was so interesting and so dynamic in their own ways which really added to the dynamic in the show. I’m still confused as to how some of those couples ended up getting engaged to each other but oh well. I actually cried during this show which I didn’t expect to do at all, not even a little bit, and I cry over everything. Lauren and Cameron as well as Kenny and Kelly as the cutest couples by far and SPOILER WARNING I’m actually sad that one of them didn’t work out. The wedding episode had me dying!!!! I was literally laughing my ass off at how crazy it was as well as crying because you know, WEDDINGS!!! I think Amber is absolutely insane and Jess is the absolute worst. You can’t change my mind. Would watch again for the lols. Can I be on season 2???? 7/10

Let it Snow: Am I actually watching a Christmas movie in the middle of April? Yes. Do I care? No, not really, what else am I going to do? Here are the notes that I took throughout the movie:

This town is really named, “Laurel, Illinois”???? All I can think of now is the “yanny or laurel” meme. I’m literally 5 seconds into this movie and I’m already making fun of it. Oh well🤷🏻‍♀️ HOLY SHIT THE GUY FROM SPIDER MAN IS IN THIS MOVIE!!! HELL YEAH!! This movie actually has a really good cast so if this turns out bad someone has to catch these hands. Apparently snow has the power to bring us all together according to the narrator. Oh shit Ben from Descendants is now roasting Spider Man guy. I never knew that this was the Marvel and Disney Channel cross over that I always needed. Ok I need to stop or else this is going to turn into a full on essay. All I want to do is roast this movie. OH GOD THIS MOVIE IS SO CRINGEY SOMEONE HELP.

Ok, he is what I’ve learned from the movie: never judge a book by its cover and the power of FRiEnDsHiP😩 The movie had a pretty strong cast but I felt that it fell flat when it came to the writing. The plot was pretty basic and cliche but what Christmas movie doesn't have a cliche plot? Yeah, bad movie. 3.5/10

Fuller House: This show is the cutest! I grew up watching Full House so I was ecstatic when I found out that there was going to be a reboot about the daughters now that they have grown up. I will admit that it's super cheesy and very predictable but nostalgic and fun nonetheless. Whenever a new season is released I watch it the whole thing the day it comes out. A super cute and lighthearted show that I would recommend if you were a fan of the original! 8.5/10

entertainment
5

About the Creator

Ashley Stys

Audio Engineering Student

Going through life one day at a time

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.