Geeks logo

I think I was destined to be a part of 'Woh Khaas' says Shambhavi Singh.

Shambhavi is probably the freshest face on the web today.

By Rachel MukherjeePublished 3 years ago 10 min read
Like
Shambhavi is a nice blend of the old world charm and contemporary vogue.

Did you like acting since childhood?

I never thought of acting as a profession since childhood, but then it was something that I would rather enjoy as I was more into dancing and singing. As a kid, I thought the actors appearing on the television streams were just like a delusion coming in from another world. It was nothing related to this world, they belong from another planet or else they might be trapped in my television, I'll get to meet them if I unscrew the box (I know, seems preternatural) and they do their things in their way but it wasn't something related to where we live in. So I never ever dreamt of acting since I didn't belong to their world according to my childish imagination.

When did you decide that you want become an actor?

Since childhood I had a great flair for dancing and singing as I was classically trained in both. While growing up eventually my uncanny imagination was proven wrong and back in my school, one of my friends spoke of acting as being her dream profession so that was the time which struck a chord within me that I too can become an actor. Dancing talent of mine helped me to firm up my decision as the point of being an actor is not only about acting but to be a complete performer and dancing too involved a lot of expressions to be given out, so to be more expressive I can also indulge and take myself into acting.

Tell us a little about yourself.

I am a teen girl whose mind is full of craziest and wildest dreams, hell ambitious, a keen learner, always believe in preserving things (yes, I could own a museum even) making memories, sorted with her decisions. I am heading towards college after completing my schooling from Notre Dame Academy, Patna. I'm also a trained classical Kathak dancer & classical singer before being an actor. Patna is my hometown. Talking about my interest, I love shopping, painting (God gifted), reflecting upon my own thoughts, enjoying my personal space observing the intricacies of the world, travelling and exploring, being experimental with my looks by stepping out of my comfort zone. Born and brought up in Bihar's middle class family, I happen to be the only girl child of my parents who is undoubtedly pampered. Being a girl child, I feel privileged to mention that my passion is given due significance though otherwise people think doctors & engineers are the best suited professions one can have. My parents, family & my uncle are my Wikipedia pages for wisdom and the solacing hand behind my passion & its fulfillment. But I feel I'm yet to discover myself in true manner!

Did you take up any training in acting?

Yes, I did have myself admitted in Performing Arts Academy for some time and was lucky enough to get classes by NSD alumnus in acting as to some extent; it really helped me with the basics of acting. Therefore, I started working on myself and being a bookworm really helped me in building up the power of my imagination.

Who is your Inspiration?

I'm inspired by art that makes a difference that makes us think. By a dance that leaves me breathless. By musicians who go against the grain to create something extraordinary. By collaboration between two of the greatest artists to ever grace the planet. I am inspired by my beautiful team to wake up every morning energized because I stand on the shoulders of those who are truly inspirational. Believe me to see my team members working hard on tiniest details just to breathe life in my performance - inspires me to an extent that I can go beyond my capabilities to not let their hard work go in vain. People, visionaries and the narratives keep me energized & inspired to continue daily.

Shambhavi Singh with Agam Anand in Woh Khaas

Did you also like something other than acting?

Being expressive runs in my blood and I love to do that by dancing, singing, painting (yes I'm a painter also as I said truly God gifted), enjoying reading books with a cup of coffee. I am also fond of spending quality time with my family, friends and my maternal and paternal grandma's because they tell you the secrets of families and stories never heard before and love to play with Sizuka (my cute little dog, though I hate to call her dog, she is my baby) as with her I'm the craziest me.

What is your strength as an actor?

I feel like I'm too young to answer this question but whatever small time given to acting, if we talk about Woh Khaas, I feel that the actor within me comes from the story itself. For me it's very important to connect with the script. I feel that unless and until you won't make your character, performance promising, you just can't make audience believe in the story and the characters. By now I can only say this and rest time will resolve this mystery.

Your role in Woh Khaas is garnering praise, how do you feel when you hear people are appreciating your work?

Undoubtedly positive appraisals are the most exciting and happening thing for an artist so it is for me too. I'm overwhelmed by seeing the love for Sandini and can't thank you all enough for this. Even I feel blessed when people are appreciating my work and recognizing me as an emerging actor. But then it's haunting me also in a way because the audience will expect more good performances from me in future as once you're an emerging actor, everything is new and fresh about you so people identified me for what was new in me, so in order to flourish I always have to break the ice again and again, that's a challenge for me. So, I am hoping to deliver them the best and to be loved by them over and over again. Last but not the least a huge thanks to Agam Anand and Richa Singh for gifting me a beautiful character in Sandini to breathe life into & my co actor Rj chokha aka Satish Verma as he is the coolest person to work with and my team for being the pillars of what you saw on screen.

How did you get the role of Sandini?

I think I was destined to be a part of Woh Khaas. I strongly believe that whenever we aspire for something, the whole universe gathers the strength in order to give you that. The same happened with me and here I'm a member of the Woh Khaas family.

Share your experience of working with Agam Anand.

Since I'm an emerging actor, main concern lies for me is the surrounding in which I'm working and everything was new for me as Woh Khaas is my very first project so working with Agam was a tremendous experience due to several acts which I would like to say about, as a writer he gave me the freedom to work on my character with my flair by making sure I'm not pressurized. As my co-actor he made sure to avoid any awkward moments and made me feel comfortable. He is true example of a gentleman and knows how to treat and respect his team. When comes to work he is hell professional and won't compromise for anything. I am fond of his working style and he also happens to be my dear friend with whom I love to have conversations about books, universe, philosophy etc. He lives a much disciplined life but for his team he breaks it for once or twice after a lot of insistence. It was amazing sharing screen space with him, really looking forward to work with him again. He is a person who can easily influence anyone to be hell ambitious.

Woh Khaas Poster

What kind of Director Ankit Bharadwaj is? How is your equation with him?

Ankit Bharadwaj is extraordinarily talented which he must be aware about. He never compromises with his work, always strives to make it close to perfection which leaves us (the team) awestruck. He is a kid by heart, who jells up with everyone on set due to his friendly and jovial nature. As I mentioned earlier, for Woh Khaas, I was a mere fresher, be it facing the camera or dubbing for very first time, I was hell nervous pondering over the thought will I be able to do justice with my character. But there he appeared with a magic wand and his magic worked. He made me so comfortable which helped me to deliver my best on screen. As director he is crystal clear from head, how and what to deliver to the audience & his work speaks. Our bond is more of being friends rather that just being up on professional terms, we love having momos together. I am looking forward to work with him again. And also I have a long list o people who worked really hard on the film, Avinash, Abhishek, Bhawana, Danish, Aman, Ujjwal, Ady & many more, RJ Chokha aka Satish Verma who is full of life and humor; above all Richa Singh, Anupam Singh and Sumit, our beloved producers. And Last but not the least Pocket Films, my parents & my uncle for being the support of my entity.

What are your upcoming projects?

For now my upcoming project is the most demanded one i.e. the Sequel of Woh Khaas and followed by a web series with Anaisha Motion Pictures. I'm really excited for the second part, in fact the whole team is. I am hoping for audience's love and support so that we can come back with a bang soon.

Tell us about your favorite films.

Basically there isn't a particular genre in which I'm completely into. I like a mix of sci-fi, romance, thriller, mystery, action, horror, comedy, and drama. I'm a person who loves to be larger than life so yes I am obsessed with Disney fantasy films. If I have to name some, Cinderella, beauty & the Beast, Maleficent, The Twilight Saga series, Titanic, The Great Gatsby, Princess diaries, Her, Padmavat etc. The list is too long actually, it is never ending. It's just another world of mine with those characters as understanding the depth of characters in itself is a surreal experience.

Tell us about your favorite scene in Woh khaas? Any funny incident you would like to share with us, which happened while shooting the film?

I can't be partial with the film as it has turned out beautifully by my team but still if you ask it. My favorite scenes in Woh khaas are the climax part & the terrace one.

The funniest thing which happened to me during the shooting of the film was during the scene which depicted of a stole being snatched away by Vihaan at Sandini's behest. After it was snatched we both had to run together as the girl was chasing us. So there were some street dogs and for no reason they started chasing us so we both gained our momentum and had no motive to stop as the dogs were after us. That was one of the funniest incidents which occurred while shooting. (Just imagine and next moment you'll be laughing hysterically).

Any message you want to give to your viewers and upcoming actors?

Since I'm an emerging actor I don't feel myself much appropriate to throw a big bundle of message and advices to all the viewers & upcoming actors. But from little knowledge that I have, all I can say is watch films and the world, be a learner, read books (best partners to have), keep practicing, break rules as rules are always meant to be broken. But I would also like to mention some small things that, remember your dreams are yours, don't expect situations to become favorable & people to start supporting you. Most important thing you can do is to be in self love and thank yourself everyday by patting your back for choosing best for you & for not compromising at all costs.

Woh Khaas is streaming on Pocket Films and it is soon going to release on more OTT platforms. The movie is receiving a lot of praise from the critics and the audience, it also got nominations in four categories at the Shortundly Summer Film Festival 2021 including Best Actress for Shambhavi Singh.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Rachel Mukherjee

Cinema, Art and Lifestyle correspondent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.