Geeks logo

I love social media but I also love Be Real

Be Real is fun and I love it !

By Christina EpperlyPublished about a year ago 3 min read
1
I love social media but I also love Be Real
Photo by Karsten Winegeart on Unsplash

Hello, Vocal Media readers! The following post was originally published on my blog https://justabucketlistdream.com/ On -8/12/2022. A few things have changed since I wrote that post. I still use this app but not as much as I used to. I have missed a good amount of days when it comes to posting on Be Real but I still post a fair amount on it. After using this app for a few months I still highly recommend downloading it and giving it a try. It is truly a unique social media platform that is worth trying out even if you are not a fan of social media. That being said if you are a fan of social media like me, do not let the reviews that say this app is anti social media prevent you from giving it a try. The overall feel of this platform is light hearted and fun. There is a less pressure to look a certain way and that is why people say that this app is against social media. However, I do not get that feel at all when I use this app. It feels like a fun place to post photos of the everyday moments in life that you would not normally post. This app does seem to be more popular with the teenage crowd but I think it is a good fit for any age. With all that being said please read the original post below.

Hello, my bucket list friends! I’ve been meaning to write this post for a little while. One day when I was scrolling through my WordPress news feed, I ended up reading a blog post that mentioned an app called Be Real. It sounded interesting and I ended up downloading it. If you haven’t heard about this app before let me explain it. You post a photo once a day. When you take a photo on the app it uses both the front and the back camera. You post on the app when you get a notification. You have two minutes to post a picture of what you are doing at the moment. If you post after the two minute window your post is considered to be late. You can still post after the two minutes have past but the amount of time you were late will be displayed with your post. The whole idea of the app is to share your real unedited life. On other social media apps we tend to post the highlights of our lives and there is nothing wrong with that. However, it makes it easy to forget that nobody’s life is perfect. It’s easy to edit or use filters on social media sites but with Be Real you can’t do that. I want to make it perfectly clear that I really love using social media! I know it has downsides but overall I enjoy it. I love expressing myself and watching other people expressing them. It’s a great place to discover ideas and to be encouraged. I say all this because while Be Real is technically a social media app, it has been referred to as an anti social media platform. I personally never thought of it that way though. I think of it is as a fun new spin on social media. With Be Real I definitely share pictures of things that I normally wouldn’t usually post. Such as the break area at work, my microwave dinner, the ceiling at the airport and much more. I don’t always look my best in the pictures I post and I’m 100% ok with that. I like that Be Real encourages you to post some of the everyday moments that you probably wouldn’t think of sharing. I do have to admit that sometimes when I get a notification to share a picture I wait until I’m going to be doing something like shopping that I want to share. Also sometimes especially when I’m working I don’t see the notification until later. There have been times when I wait to post one just because I’m busy or tired. However, I haven’t missed a day of posting since I started using Be Real. However, I really wish I knew more people who used this app. If you would like to add me username is summerrockstar. I hope to see you on the app! Thanks for reading!

pop culturesocial mediaproduct review
1

About the Creator

Christina Epperly

Hello There ! I'm a blogger, writer and bucket lister! My bucket list has over 300 items on it. I am big believer in enjoying the little things in life. I also love collecting toys.

John 3:16

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.