Geeks logo

How WandaVision got us through COVID-19

The excitement of having to wait for new content amidst the instant gratification of instant streaming

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
3

I’ve never been too much into Superheroes.

I like anti-heroes, like Hancock, or even the band of misfits that made up Watchmen (graphic novel), but even then, most of the time, I was more into romances, foreign films (Japanese horror films like Infection by Masayuki Ochiai and French films like Amelie and The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie) and the occasional anime(Princess Tutu and Elfen Lied).

I didn't know much about Marvel, or their heroes and for the longest time I was not sure if I would like that particular universe and those heroes/villain's that made up that world.

I was a huge fan of DC and of Batman (I still am!), but once I had heard from my oldest son about a even quirkier and more ragtag band of "heroes" called The Guardians of the Galaxy, I started to get my feet wet into the interesting and hilarious world of Marvel. These people were my type of people, witty, dry, sarcastic and not technically good or bad. Just people.

The next time I had seen another Marvel film was the Avengers movies, End Game, and then it transcended to Black Panther, Ant-Man and the Wasp, Spider-man and Thor: Ragnarok. I loved these films. Especially Thor: Ragnarok and the Spider-man films. Black Panther was also an excellent addition, with Ant-Man.

Before Wandavision, I was not aware of the Scarlet Witch or of the wonderful and sweet relationship that was nurtured between her and Vision.

But, I decided to give it a go, with my Disney plus subscription already ready to go, I watched the first episode.

Getting to know these two intriguing people in such a whimsical I Love Lucy and Bewitched sort of fashion, I immediately fell in love. I fell in love with these two people and their story. I loved their triumphs, hated their falls, and I wanted them to succeed.

I wanted their love to prevail, even though things seemed off about their life together, and the town, and the seemingly picture perfect world where they resided.

This was at the cusp of us (all of us) trying to comprehend the full scope of the COVID-19 pandemic, and being in between the state of denial and panic, I was trying to maintain a sense of normalcy and calm in my life, and my children’s lives as well.

This show gave me something to always look forward to. A constant—-but it was not an instant thing. That’s what I loved about it, too. The waiting for new content instead of being constantly spoon-fed everything in one block.

It was something that I truly appreciated, for the new content that came out on a scheduled basis(for this I would constantly update on my Facebook when a new episode would out, as I was always excited!), and for the way it drew me and my oldest son in—-it became our show. My son and I would be so happy when the newest episode was released, it was our happy hour!

Something new and something to count on.

In this pandemic that has effected everyone in little ways, in big ways, in enormous ways—-drenching our relationships, friendships and families with a gripping and real sense of physical isolation—-WandaVision mirrors this in a subtle affirmation of our feelings.

Grief and how we deal with it is something that everyone copes with differently, but in the end, we all agree that these complicated emotions are universal.

I find that Marvel is my new voice, my sense of catharsis and has a huge place in my heart for showing me and son that unconditional love and understanding.

The humor, diverse stories, 3-Dimensional and richly complex characters, original and emotionally intense and challenging content is something to look forward to, and I for one can’t wait for more!

humanity
3

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos.

I am Bexley is published by Resurgence Novels here.

The Half Paper Moon is available on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella Carnivorous is to be published by Eukalypto soon! Coming soon

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    So much yes!!! I loved Wandavision and still think it's the best of all the Marvel shows, though the others have also been good. And I agree, it got us through the pandemic for exactly those reasons❣️x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.