Geeks logo

How I Met Your Mother Through Watching 'Game of Thrones'

#VocalGOT

By Jason GiecekPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Kylo on Unsplash

It was a day like any other day.

I was working as a bartender for a local dive in my old home town.

My best friend John was sitting at the bar, overly excited about a new show premiering on HBO later that week.

"It's called Game of Thrones! I've read the books, and am so ready to see this show!" he almost shouted out so even the people three blocks over could hear. "I know you're not too much into fantasy stories, but I'm having a watch party at my house on Sunday. Are you in?"

I shrugged, wiping the bar down.

"My cousin Anne will be there!" He smiled, winking at me.

I will admit I have had a crush on Anne since high school.

She was the head cheerleader.

I was the geeky sensitive kid, president of the chess club and vice-president of the drama club.

We had a few classes together and went out a few times, but nothing ever really went anywhere.

She went off to college.

I stayed in town, working a few jobs, ultimately settling into my bartending gig as I took some night courses at the community college in business and marketing.

"I'll be there, buddy. I'll be there!" I said smiling.

April 17th, 2011, I found myself at my friend’s house.

Anne was there, looking as beautiful as I remembered her.

I reintroduced myself jokingly as I sat down next to her on the couch.

“I know who you are, you silly boy!” she said, smiling, mockingly punching me in the arm. “How have you been?”

We chatted a bit and then the show started.

We soon find ourselves transported to a strange and wonderful land for over an hour.

We cringed as we nervously watched Cersei having sex with her twin brother, Jaime.

We growled savagely in forceful condemnation when Jaime forcefully pushed Ned Stark’s 10-year-old son Brandon from a presumed fatal height.

And we got to meet the Dothraki warlord Khal Drogo, Daenerys, and her brother the exiled prince Viserys Targaryen, who gives Daenerys to Khal to be his bride in exchange for the help of his army to conquer Westeros and reclaim the Iron Throne.

Neither of us wanted to leave that land. We didn’t even notice that we were holding each others’ hands the entire time.

“Good show, huh?” John said smiling over at us.

We both nodded, our hands still holding each other's.

We stood, our hands reluctantly letting go, as we readied ourselves to go.

“You want to go to get some coffee?” I asked.

She smiled and nodded.

We sat in the coffee shop, drinking coffee and talking about the show for hours.

What had happened.

What we thought would happen.

Who was our favorite character.

It was right then, as I sat there across from Anne, that I knew this was the woman for me.

I couldn’t thoroughly explain it then nor can I really now. I just knew that she was going to be mine and I would be hers.

I took her home.

We exchanged phone numbers, smiling at each other as we stood there on her front porch possessing each other’s hands.

She kissed me.

We planned to sit next to each other for that second episode.

By episode six of that first season, we had announced to our dear friends and family that we were dating each other, exclusively.

It was a whirlwind romance, starting out watching Game of Thrones, moving on to dates outside that world, stumbling a bit more into love with each other.

By the first episode of Season Three, I asked Anne for her hand in marriage.

She excitedly said yes.

We were married on May 4th, 2013.

Our honeymoon included, but of course was not limited to, watching episode six of season three, "The Climb."

By season five, our family had grown by two, twins.

Joseph Charles and Doris Marie were born on April 12th, 2015.

This was the first time we had missed a season opener.

But you’d have to agree, it was for a noble cause.

We continued to watch, and after season seven, we long awaited with everyone else for this final season, season eight.

In that eight years, our lives have changed, mostly for the better.

And it all began with the Game of Thrones.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Jason Giecek

A poet who cannot rhyme, a dreamer who dreams in reality, realist who gave up realism last week as part of his plea agreement. The courts got nothing!! Nothing!

I'm on Twitter --- https://twitter.com/MisterDonkeyKon FOLLOW ME!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.