Geeks logo

How 'Game of Thrones' Became a Fledgling Part of Student Life

I look back on how university, and 'Game of Thrones' went together like bread and butter #VocalGOT

By Robert CainPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

(Warning: Mild spoilers ahead!)

After eight long years on the small screen, the legendary Game of Thrones has come to an end, and while the show has varied in quality, it has left an undeniable mark on pop culture at large. What it did over eight seasons was get people together in a way no series can; it’s given us many stories to tell over the years, but here’s one from me.

My story with the series began shortly after starting university in the UK town of Bournemouth in September 2013; I had briefly heard of how George R. R. Martin’s A Song of Fire and Ice crafted a unique fantasy world unlike any other, and I had also taken some interest in the books. Through much word of mouth, and more than a few articles in the student-published Nerve Magazine, a friend eventually loaned me his DVD boxsets of the first two seasons. As a university student, it couldn’t have come at a better time; I had just wrapped up Breaking Bad on Netflix, and was looking for the next big series to latch onto. I spent several nights in my first year burning my way through the first twenty episodes, gradually growing more intrigued at the political machinations, and awesome battle sequences as things went on. I wasn’t the only one who became a massive fan as the show’s popularity grew drastically around the same time, especially on both sides of the Atlantic.

From that point on, I was hooked… Game of Thrones was like nothing else on the fantasy scene, and I eventually started getting into extensive, nerdy discussions about what would happen next, and the greater lore surrounding the franchise. Every week after lectures we would often gather to discuss the events of the latest episodes, the characters we supported (and hated!), and when we would get together next to watch the newest releases, which at the time was season four. Of course, my consumption of the show continued, leaving me speechless at the end of season three with the red wedding. I was a big supporter of a certain Stark who shares my first name, and this moment, more than anything else, told me that Game of Thrones was the furthest thing from your traditional fantasy fiction. This isn’t a story where heroes triumph over heal; instead it’s one where everyone has their own unique motivations, which only left me salivating for more…

What started as a modest interest transformed into a community-wide craze that expanded across most of the town. In the years from 2013 to 2016, a good majority of Bournemouth University students were watching Game of Thrones, and most of them were getting together on those wild nights to watch them round each other’s houses. It became this weekly event to get everyone in accommodation together, bag some refreshments, and watch the latest episode. Each week it would go something like this…

  1. A friend would be tasked with finding the latest episode, while another would acquire the biggest TV possible.
  2. The group would gather in the evening, stick the episode on, and maintain minimum commentary and chatting all the way through, outside of reactions.
  3. After wrapping up the episodes, the discussion would begin with a little help from both the show’s trailers, and YouTubers like Alt Shift X.

As we entered seasons four through six, the groups would eventually grow larger, and the reactions a lot more pronounced. The arrogance of Oberyn Martell, Stannis Baratheon’s dire situation at the end of season five, and the entirety of season six’s ending drew some insane reactions that stuck with me long after the episodes wrapped up. Even after university finished, the show continued to be a driving force towards bringing our circle of friends together for another round of watching. It’s certainly what I’ll remember Game of Thrones for; the social gatherings, wacky reactions, and deep discussions that we had over the three years I spent at university; the series certainly made my time at Bournemouth even more enjoyable, bringing people of all backgrounds together for an altogether awesome viewing experience. I doubt we’ll get one like it ever again.

That was my personal story regarding Game of Thrones, but what do you guys think? Feel free to comment with your own perspectives, and personal stories.

tv
Like

About the Creator

Robert Cain

I'm a well-travelled blogger and writer from the UK who is looking to spread his blogs and freelance writings further afield. You can find more of my work at https://robc25.wixsite.com/thecainagecritique.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.