Geeks logo

Home Alone 2 - A Movie Review

'Home Alone 2' is a fun holiday classic to get to enjoy with the whole family.

By Marielle SabbagPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Check to make sure that we have everything before we get on the plane. Is Kevin here? What do you mean you can’t find him?

Home Alone 2 was a 1992 sequel to the popular Christmas classic film of the same name. While the McCallister family rushes to get on the plane to Florida, Kevin accidentally boards a plane to New York City. At first, Kevin has the time of his life in New York until two faces from the past hunt him down on the night of Christmas Eve.

I could watch a marathon of the Home Alone movies for an entire day and never get bored. No matter how many times I have seen these movies, I am always laughing in hysterics from the crazy antics. Although Home Alone 2 is a repeat of the first movie, it is still a fun holiday classic to get together with the whole family.

Macauley Culkin embodies his role as Kevin McCallister. He is an intelligent kid who makes up the craziest plans to get the criminals off his back. At times, Culkin’s expressions don’t act along with the emotion in his voice. Still, Culkin is the core of Home Alone who brings the story to life with his mischievous behavior.

Joe Pesci and Daniel Stern have the best villain chemistry in any movie I have ever seen. Despite them knowing what they went through last year, Harry and Marv are still clueless when they fall into the line of traps. Once I actually rewound my VHS tape of Home Alone 2 just so I could watch all the tricks again! The brick scene is always my favorite moment in the whole film. Stern cracks me up toppling over in pain, barely able to make sense of what is going on.

Catherina O’Hara and John Heard return as Kevin’s parents. What’s a movie without the bug-eyed frantic O’Hara hysterically shouting out her son’s name? The entire ensemble of McCallister’s return frantically running about the house making sure they have everything packed, arguing, but still having a nice time being together.

Upon recent viewings of the movie, I have never paid attention to the way the family interacts with one another. The McCallister family has a unique but strong bond that holds them together. Next time you watch this movie I suggest that you pay close attention to the interactions amongst the family.

Other notable cast members to appear in Home Alone 2 are Tim Curry, Dana Ivey, and Rob Schnieder as the comedic concierge of the Plaza Hotel. Curry is one of the best supporting actors in the film and his reactions to comedy are the best. There is also a warm appearance by the late Eddie Bracken.

Most fans complain about the subplot that involves Kevin and the bird lady (Brenda Fricker). I have always found scenes involving Kevin’s interactions with this woman to be pointless and I even fast-forwarded during one of my viewings when I was a kid.

Fricker’s character could have been better executed because I liked her character. She should have had a more concise story. Kevin already learned from Marley in the first movie to never judge a person before getting to know them.

Even the filmmakers have made fun of their own film because of the similarities to the first movie. Chris Columbus made these films for audiences to have a laugh at each year around the holidays.

I suggest that you get the whole family together to watch a showing of Home Alone 2 during your holiday season. Just make sure that you don’t leave anyone out.

review
1

About the Creator

Marielle Sabbag

Writing has been my passion since I was 11 years old. I love creating stories from fiction, poetry, fanfiction. I enjoy writing movie reviews. I would love to become a creative writing teacher and leave the world inspiring minds.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.