Geeks logo

Glass

A Love Story

By Kelsey BurtonPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I can almost see it now....whatever "it" is.The sparkling glass reflects my own image in every space of this room like a house made of mirrors. As I get closer to the glass an image begins to surface. And image not my own. As our eyes meet the glass around us cracks slowly at first and then quickens until it finally shatters to nothing but dust and fragments of my imagination. Before I can get my bearings, I am startled awake by the sound of my phone going off buzzing loudly like a bee.

"Hello?" I say grogily. "Bitch...are you up yet?!"

"Good morning to you too Kayla."

Kayla is my bestfriend and has been so since we were 9. I was being made fun of for my extremely short haircut due to lice and my stepmom over treating my hair. Kayla didnt even blink and high fived a bully right in the knees...with a baseball bat. As it officially stands, I saw none of this happen. We have been thick as thieves since and I trust her with my life. Kayla grew up in boston before her family moved to Washington so she is more die than ride and that can be very entertaining for when you have two dies and no rides. She is my person and I wouldn’t be here without her.

"Work starts in 30 minutes and my guess is you haven’t even got out of bed yet." she said. "Not true I’m onehundered percent out of my bed and ready " I argued. Today is my first day working for my friend Kayla, well actually working for Menards, but she will be my supervisor. Being fresh out of the asylum makes you less desirable for employers so I have to make money where I can besides, they have great Halloween decorations with a steep employee discount.

"Thank you" I chirped as she handed me my Watermelon Red bull while she sipped on her dunkins coffee for our short drive into town. We were raised in Washington, but it is not where we stayed. We ended up in the Midwest were we could dream about trips to the ocean back home but we liked how calm it was compared to the busy cities in Washington that are riddled with violence and drugs, something neither of us need to be involved in anymore.

After finishing up my new employee paperwork I got to have a short break before enduring the 2-hour long employee welcoming video about safety. Not too long after that I read and signed the employee handbook and headed to lunch. In the employee breakroom I saw him. "Hi, I’m Amber." I said.

He Looked at me as though he tasted something bitter. "Hey" is all he said back. Okay fine not a talker but I’m not going to lie, despite the rude asshole written all over his face he was very attractive. Tall but, piercing blue eyes wavy auburn hair in that "I rolled out of bed like this" kind of tousled. I sat and ate my food in silence for a while. "What is that?" I looked up surprised to see this dude asking about..."my food?" I asked. "Yeah it looks and smells amazing."

"oh, its butter chicken, an Indian type of curry, do you want to try some?" "Yes' he said. He took a huge bite with the spork I handed him.

"I’m Micheal by the way". We ended up sharing the rest of my lunch and talking about books and movies. I felt like I had known him my whole life. I found out that he just moved here a few weeks ago to help his uncle Peter run this store. Kayla had talked about Peter her boss like she had known him her whole life, but she never mentioned Michael and he just said they both just moved here I will have to remember to ask her how long she has known him.

After lunch I walked to the front of the store to talk to Peter about the benefits package but just before reaching his door, I heard voices coming from his office. I’m nosy so I listened in.

" You can’t sway her in anyway this must be her choice and her choice alone."

"Peter if she doesn’t choose soon the whole world will be destroyed, she must chose and quickly." Kayla?

"Do you have any updates for me ?" Peter said.

"She’s having the dreams again now if her stupid family would stop sending her to the asylums every time she remembers and freaks out that would be great. We cant keep waiting for her to process it on her own we are going to have to interfere in some way. “unidentifiable female voice says. “Her 23rd birthday is soon we must act quickly."

My 23rd birthday is in February , but its August so must not be me they are discussing but what a strange conversation. This person they are talking about and I seem like we could be best of friends. I stopped ease dropping because its not my business. Shortly afterword Kayla appeared out of the office followed by the most beautiful woman I have ever seen. Her hair was Red and she had dark brown eyes that looked like they had pools of honey Glowing in them , they almost seemed to move and glow, her skin was olive and flawless . She had the perfect hourglass shape with a firm jawline. As she walked passed I tried to find a single flaw but could not. She smelled like sweet whiskey and strong cigars. “Who is that”? I asked a smirking Kayla. “Lucy, don’t trust her.”

On the way home I forgot to ask Kayla about Michael or Peter or the Very strange convo they where having which sounded like they were talking about me. I was too distracted by the thought that someone out there was struggling like I was and for a moment I felt less alone

literature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.