Geeks logo

Genderbusters: Most Than a Ghost of a Chance

All the negative feedback about the 'Ghostbusters' reboot with an all-female driven cast astounds me.

By Matthew BaileyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Ok, so filtering through all of the Ghostbusters rumors, was more work than I expected, especially with the Tatum/Pratt news leak, but nevertheless my search continued. As my searching progressed, I became more and more aggravated. Not with the ALL FEMALE CAST REBOOT but with the #ghostbustersgate nonsense.

Let me state this right now. I am a nearly 30 year old male. I grew up watching the classic 1980's movies. I still have a wall of VHS tapes, all the movies that I look for on DVD before I toss my original. I am nostalgic. I am fanatic about my favorite movies, and Ghostbusters was/is/will always be one of those movies that I'll always return to for a good time.

There's just something about the stories and the actors from that generation that just seem to bridge the gap of the times. The original cast had such chemistry and they created such a cultural cornerstone for the beginning of GEEK-DOM. The original story, to me was when it cool to be the nerdy kid, because someday I could also join the ranks of the Ghostbusters and save the world. The Ghostbusters are the geeky black-sheep brother of the superhero realm. Ghostbusters helped me think that my geeky nature was okay, that I wasn't relegated to work in a cubicle somewhere staring at a computer screen for 10 hours a day. --Now the fact that I just described my current job is a moot point because I grew up under the knowledge that I could save the world in my own way. I didn't have to be 6'3" 180 lbs with rippling muscles to do something worthwhile with my life.

So, the fact that there has been such a backlash about the Ghostbusters reboot with an All-Female driven cast astounds me. Comments like these below, just make me feel sad for the future generations.

Really people?! This is your judgement?

I feel like there was this massive upheaval and every self-conscious, female hating male numb-nuts decided to rant about how terrible of a concept it would be to create a female cast for Ghostbusters.

The general reaction to an all female cast...

Hollywood is, in essence, a collaborative melting pot. A story gets written and placed in the pot and stirred. Then as time goes on and it keeps getting stirred with other stories, original ideas start to come less frequently. Look at how many Superman/Spiderman/BatmanReboots we've seen in the last 30 years. Now that a new generation of movie watchers are joining the world, it truly is time to update the stories and create new culturally relevant stories. And yes, that includes gender modification. 30 years ago, an all female cast would never have flown, let alone have been a consideration.

Now we're in a culture that is making strides to be 'equal' - in race, in creed, in gender, in all aspects.

I am a father of a 2.5 year old boy, and as much as I would love to give my son the same memories that I grew up with. I know that it's not possible. But what is possible is for me to expose him to the stories that my generation created, and watch as he sees what his generation creates.

I for one, am thoroughly excited for what Paul Feig can potentially bring with these 4 women, who in their own rights have incredible comedic presence.

Melissa McCarthy - Bridesmaids, The Heat, Tammy, Identity Thief.

Kate Mckinnon - SNL (2012-2015), Appearances on Conan & Jimmy Fallon.

Leslie Jones - SNL (2014-2015), Appearance on Chealsea Lately, Def Comedy Jam.

Kristen Wiig - SNL (2005-2014), Appearances on Letterman, Seth Meyers, Fallon, Kimmel, Jon Stewart & Conan.

All 4 actresses come with their own unique characteristics, which is part of the beautiful memories that I have of the originals: Bill Murray, Dan Aykroyd, Ernie Hudson & Harold Ramis. I am waiting to see how the reboot unfolds.

movie
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Bailey

Husband. Father. Gamer. Cinema Lover. Mix it all together, and there I am. I love all things pop-culture and coffee; but coffee is the best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.