Geeks logo

Geek Talk with Tyler

Let your geek flag fly

By Tyler BrookePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Geek Talk with Tyler
Photo by Jonathan Velasquez on Unsplash

“One of the greatest regrets in life is being what others would want you to be, rather than being yourself.” These were the words declared by a one, Shannon L Alder. An inspirational author whose words give a biblical perspective have provided inspiration to many a person and words that I standby even to this date. The reason I stand by these words are because my interests and persuasions lean towards the geekier aspects of life. Things like anime, manga, superheroes and pretty much anything you'll find at a Comic con.

Granted these trends are more acceptable than they once were, it still did not make my social life any easier growing up. I guess my fascination with this type of lifestyle began when I was a kid. Some of the shows I that have caught my fancy include: Batman the animated series, Gargoyles and Beast Wars.

When I was around the age of 6 or 7, I was exposed to my first anime series. The anime series in question, was Kimba the White Lion. Based on the manga of the same name, this is follows the story of young Kimba (who later became Leo the Lion). My father thought they were Lion King tapes and no one corrected him on the matter. This began the exploration of other shows similar to it. While 4kids wasn't the best example of westernizing in anime, it did serve as a good gate way into the realm of anime and manga for me.

When I found myself in high school, found it hard more times than not to connect with anyone due to my interests relaying more on the geekier aspect of life. Since this wasn't as accepting as it was once was, I was seen as an outcast because of it. Once I graduated high school, I had found myself with almost no friends that I can relate to. There were a few, but minimal by comparison to everyone else who had a myriad of people they can socialize with.

College was slightly better by comparison. I did have more people who I could bond with. But between our schedules conflicting with one another, it was next to impossible for us to spend anytime together. I had graduated and kept in touch with those people to this day due to the miracle that exists in social medias like Facebook and Instagram.

After college, I had found my social circle to be almost nonexistent. So I went online in an attempt to make more friends. Which paid off in my favor. I had found many people who I could converse with in regards to our mutual shared interested.

Some point later on, I had found about podcasts. Of which I had found many different types thereof. Podcasts on many topics including, politics, technology and even, geek culture. I figured that I since I have more than enough knowledge in regards to starting a podcast, why not do so. To quote Blitzo from the YouTube series, Helluva Boss "When you're good at something, you should capitalize."

This in turn allowed me to connect with many friends I haven't seen in years as they have become cohosts for my series, Geek Talk with Tyler. My cohosts have ranged from local artists like Rickman from RickmanArt, Dan who is the cohost of The Rock Nerd Radio Show and Krispie who is a local artist who works on indie movies.

The best part of this is, that I can talk about these topics passionately, thus allowing me to express my true inner self and allowing the world to share my passion. Some episodes that have been released in 2021 include: Comics: More Than DC and Marvel, Reboots and their existence in the west and One Piece: More than a Shounen. This podcast is currently available on Spotify. I hope you all enjoy listening to it as I did creating it.

pop culture
Like

About the Creator

Tyler Brooke

Hello,

I'm Tyler Brooke. I'm 30 years of age and have enjoyed writing all my life. I'm a published author with one book to my name and plan on writing more. I joined this page to express myself creatively and to read well written stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.