Geeks logo

Frozen Butterflies by Simona Grossi | Book Review

Frozen Butterflies is a novel written by Simona Grossi. This is my opinion on it.

By Myriah Published 4 years ago 3 min read
1

Frozen Butterflies follows a woman named Susan through a very interesting and confusing time in her life. Susan starts out as a psychology professor, but she’s so far from that when we reach the end of the story. She meets a man named Nick and they start a crazy, cross country trip together. Where does that trip lead them? You’ll have to read to find out!

This story started out so fascinating, but somewhere I think I—and the main character—got lost. I made it the whole way through, and wanted to make it there, which says a lot about the story itself! It has promise. It’s interesting. No story is perfect, and not every story is meant for every person.

A lot of this book is about lies. Lies others tell. Lies we tell others. Lies we tell ourselves. The perspective on it in the novel is fascinating.

It seems to me that there’s a whole chunk of this story that wasn’t exactly necessary, though. It didn’t go cleanly from A to Z. I was hoping it would all come together in the end, but it didn’t. With that being said, I did still enjoy this story. It was an interesting and wild ride.

The grammar of this book definitely reads like it was not the authors native language, and it’s not. I would love to be able to read this story in Italian, the author’s native language. But, to my dismay, I can’t read Italian and I’m not sure it was ever published in Italian. Regardless, it should be easy enough for most readers to look past. Sometimes the tenses got a little mixed up. Not the end of the world. The author seems to be an incredibly intelligent and talented woman and English is a notoriously silly language. Don’t let it affect your opinion of the story.

There are some fantastic ideas in this novel. Some things were thought provoking and I really enjoyed that. The idea of the frozen butterflies alone really got to me. I’d tell you more, but I think it’s important to understand this topic exactly when it shows up in the book. It brings some clarity of why Susan is where she is. Why she’s feeling the way that she’s feeling.

I always find it interesting to see how other people think and process things. In this case, the main character and I really go about things in different ways. This led me to be a little frustrated with her at times. That’s completely normal, though, especially if you’re a fan of Young Adult fiction. On occasion, even a character you adore makes some really irritating decisions. I feel that’s part of what makes it feel real, though. Real humans make the same kind of mistakes and bad decisions.

The end left me unsatisfied. But. BUT. I think that was the point. Or maybe I missed the point the whole time. At the end of the day, I would either recommend or not recommend this book. I feel some people will love it and others will be left wanting something else. It’s all a matter of opinion. Maybe I just read this at the wrong time in my life. Some of it hit close enough to home to keep me moving, looking for an answer to my own questions. It’s possible I should just read it again. Knowing how it plays out could help me understand some of the themes and developments throughout the rest of the book.

A warning, this book deals HEAVILY with mental health and mental illness. If that’s something that you’ll find upsetting or are just not interested in, this story isn’t for you.

If this book sounds interesting to you, you can find it on Amazon here. Currently, the Kindle version is listed as $4.99. Paperback is listed as $14.99

Find the author’s website here.

Happy reading!! Let me know how this story made you feel, what you liked, what you hated.

literature
1

About the Creator

Myriah

Myriah writes for fun in her spare time when she’s not working with or playing with dogs. She enjoys writing fiction, especially horror but is trying to branch out to other styles!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.